Libraries
"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."
"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."
Find passwords to access databases outside of school
Search for your topic in one or more of the encyclopedias listed below. Use important keywords for the best results.
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.
SEARCH TIP - Start your search in the Middle level. Move to the High School level as needed.
SEARCH TIP - Start your search in World Book Student and then search World Book Advanced for more detailed information.
Included in the Gale eBook Collection:
Mathematics by
Now in full color, this update of the 2002 A-Z encyclopedia explains mathematical concepts and provides a fascinating historical overview of the field. It explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, while short biographies (in the form of sidebars) highlight mathematicians who have made significant contributions to their fields. Careers in mathematics are also explored. Written in a tone and at a level appropriate for students (primarily those in upper middle school or high school, as well as undergraduates who are not mathematics majors), Mathematics contains approximately 300 entries that cover the basic disciplines of algebra, geometry, and trigonometry, with the goal of making these topics more accessible and interesting to students and the general reader. Thirty percent of the content (in the form of new and revised essays) highlight the advances that have taken place in mathematics since the beginning of the 21st century. Mathematics is illustrated throughout with images, equations, tables, and figures, and includes sidebars. Key Features Signed entries written by subject matter experts with affiliations listed in frontmatter Bibliography/Suggested Further Reading in every entry Key terms defined in margins and glossary 200 images plus 200 tables, charts & graphs 100 sidebars, including short biographies of mathematicians Thematic outline; & cumulative index
SEARCH TIP - This database includes several Math Fair topics. Enter your topic in the search box at the top of the page or go to the Mathematics Topic Page to see what topics are covered.
Reference, magazine, newspaper, perspective and peer-reviewed articles on all subjects.
