Libraries
"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."
"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."
The Library offers members of the Berkeley Carroll School access to our large collection of research resources and tools. This includes free digital access to The Atlantic and The New York Times (includes NYTimes Cooking), the NY Times Games, and Flipster's Online Magazine Newsstand. Follow the instructions below to set up your account and get your free access.
The libraries' group subscription to The Atlantic provides access to all of The Atlantic anytime, anywhere!
- Go to https://theatlantic.com/berkeleycarroll-login/
- Select your BC Google account
- Sign in with your Google login credentials
- Download the app for iOS or Android.
- Tap the Settings button at the top-right of the Today screen.
- Select “Sign In” and scroll down to “Sign in through your institution.”
- Find your institution from the dropdown list and sign in with your credentials.
- Enable push notifications for essential stories, and start exploring the app.
Access to The Atlantic gives you more than just news. Discover enrichment for every part of your academic life. Berkeley Carroll’s group subscription unlocks unlimited access to everything at theatlantic.com for faculty, staff, and students in grades 9-12. This includes the entire archive (dating back to its founding in 1857), newsletters, narrated articles, games, and much more. Go to The Atlantic's A-Z Database list for some ways to get started with your subscription.
Berkeley Carroll students (grades 7-12), faculty, and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, thanks to our school-wide library subscription. We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your selection of reading materials and your educational experience.
Note: You must be on campus or connected to your school’s network to activate your access. You cannot activate your Pass while off campus or via a proxy server.
- Go to nytimes.com/grouppass to grab a pass with IP authentication and follow these instructions:
- Select "Create Account"
- Use your Berkeley Carroll email address to fill out the Sign Up form.
When you see the "Start Your Access" screen, you have successfully registered.
Please note: You will need to repeat these steps to renew your free subscription each year. Set a calendar reminder to be notified when your pass will expire.
Get access to the complete collection of New York Times Games, for faculty, staff, and students in grades 9-12, courtesy of BC Libraries. Be on the lookout in the first few weeks of school for a welcome email from NYT Group Subscriptions. Instructions for accessing your account will be included in that email.
You can also contact library staff at bcslibrary@berkeleycarroll.org if you would like a games account or if you have any issues or questions. As always, if you are unsure whether an email is legitimate, don’t hesitate to reach out to helpdesk.
Happy playing!
NOTE: Accounts for new faculty, students & staff will be added in the first few weeks of school. Thanks for your patience!
Advocate ~ The Atlantic ~ Beanz (formerly Kids, Code & Computer Science) ~ Bon Appetit ~ Dig Into History ~ Discover ~ Diversity in STEAM ~ Essence ~ MIT Technology Review ~ Muse ~ National Wildlife ~ National Geographic España ~ Natural History ~ The New York Review of Books ~ The New Yorker ~ Newsweek Mexico ~ Newsweek en Español ~ Science News ~ Scientific American ~ Scientific American Mind ~ Smore Magazine ~ Time ~ Total Film ~ Wacky But True ~ The Week ~ Wired ~ YES! Magazine