Libraries
"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."
"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."
Find passwords to access databases outside of school
Use this key to determine if the book you need is available in print and/or electronic format.
If it is available as an eBook you will see what platform it's on which will help you find the correct password to access the book outside of school in the Online & Print Library Collections section of the Database Passwords page.
Capstone Interactive eBooks
Follett eBooks
Gale eBooks
Sora eBooks
Print Books 
For example:
Count Like an Egyptian by
Provides a fun, hands-on introduction that takes you step-by-step through addition, subtraction, multiplication, and more. Learn how fractions and decimals may have been calculated--they technically didn't exist in the land of the pharaohs. You'll be immersed in many facets of Egyptian life, from hieroglyphs and pyramid building to agriculture, religion, and even bread baking and beer brewing. You'll also learn some Babylonian computation--the precursor to our modern system--and see how ancient Egyptian mathematics compares to today's math.
Included in the Gale eBook Collection:
Mathematics by
Now in full color, this update of the 2002 A-Z encyclopedia explains mathematical concepts and provides a fascinating historical overview of the field. It explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, while short biographies (in the form of sidebars) highlight mathematicians who have made significant contributions to their fields. Careers in mathematics are also explored. Written in a tone and at a level appropriate for students (primarily those in upper middle school or high school, as well as undergraduates who are not mathematics majors), Mathematics contains approximately 300 entries that cover the basic disciplines of algebra, geometry, and trigonometry, with the goal of making these topics more accessible and interesting to students and the general reader. Thirty percent of the content (in the form of new and revised essays) highlight the advances that have taken place in mathematics since the beginning of the 21st century. Mathematics is illustrated throughout with images, equations, tables, and figures, and includes sidebars. Key Features Signed entries written by subject matter experts with affiliations listed in frontmatter Bibliography/Suggested Further Reading in every entry Key terms defined in margins and glossary 200 images plus 200 tables, charts & graphs 100 sidebars, including short biographies of mathematicians Thematic outline; & cumulative index
This link opens in a new window
Amazing Math Projects You Can Build Yourself by
Provides step-by-step instructions for hands-on activities that introduce math concepts to children ages nine and up, covering numbers, counting, angles, curves, paths, shapes, and patterns.
Make a geodesic dome big enough to sit in. Solve one of the world's hardest two-piece puzzles. Pass a straight line through a curved slot. From prime numbers to paraboloids, Amazing Math Projects You Can Build Yourself introduces readers ages 9 and up to the beauty and wonder of math through hands-on activities. Kids will cut apart shapes to discover area formulas, build beautiful geometric models to explore their properties, and amaze friends with the mysterious Möbius strip. Learning through examples of how we encounter math in our daily lives, children will marvel at the mathematical patterns in snowflakes and discover the graceful curves in the Golden Gate Bridge. Readers will never look at soap bubbles the same way again! Amazing Math Projects You Can Build Yourself includes projects about number patterns, lines, curves, and shapes. Each activity includes intriguing facts, vocabulary builders, and connections to other topics. A companion website, includes video instructions for many projects in the book and provides additional activities.
The Math Book by
An anthology of descriptions of 250 significant achievements in the history of mathematics, arranged chronologically from circa 150 million BC to 2007.
Train your brain to be a math genius by
Presents math activities and puzzles, stories of math geniuses, math facts and statistics, and more.
Shapes in math, science and nature squares, triangles and circles by
A collection of activities that provide information about how squares, triangles, and circles are used in math, science, and nature.