Home - 5 HUM - Ancient Egypt - LibGuides at Berkeley Carroll School

"Thebes, interior of the tomb Amenhotep." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed January 14, 2021.

ACCESS KEY

Find out how to login to access databases outside of school

You will need a password to be able to access the articles and books on your topic.
First - find the name of the database (in parenthesis & capital letters) at the end of the title

(BRITANNICA)

(CAPSTONE eBook) - BEST BET!

(GALE eBook)

(INFOBASE / FACTS ON FILE)

(ROSEN eBook) - Sign in with Google - BEST BET!

(WORLD BOOK)

Then find that name on the database login page and use the username/password that follows it to sign in.
The link will take you directly to the resource.

Interactive eBooks

Capstone Interactive eBooks This link opens in a new window
Find books from different subjects, genres, and levels. Every title has an audio recording of the book that you can select and read along with.

Suggested Capstone eBooks

Rosen Interactive eBooks

Rosen Interactive eBooks This link opens in a new window

Suggested Rosen eBooks

Selected Websites

Egypt: A new Look at an Ancient Culture

Ancient Egypt for Families and Educators Have you ever wondered about sphinxes, hieroglyphs, mummification, or pharaohs? Explore ancient Egypt with your family through these online resources that children will love! Teachers, integrate ancient Egyptian works of art into your teaching with the lesson plan below.

Egypt's Golden Empire - Resources - PBS

BBC Bitesize - Ancient Egypt Class Clips

The British Museum - Ancient Egypt
Egyptian Life. Writing, Pyramids. Trades. Temples. Gods and goddesses. Mummification.

Encyclopedias

Britannica School This link opens in a new window An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.

More Databases

Ancient & Medieval History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.

World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window Primary documents and reference articles on history from prehistory to 1500.

Brain Pop

BrainPOP This link opens in a new window

SEARCH TIP: Search "Ancient Egypt" and find resources on the pyramids, Cleopatra, and the Egyptian Pharaohs.

Educator Resources

World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on history from prehistory to 1500.

Egypt and the Near East, 3200-500 BCE (ABC-CLIO)
Teachers > log in to find curriculum guides and resources.

Educator Support Site (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window