Skip to Main Content

local_library Libraries: Middle School

"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."

6 HUM - The Fall of Rome

Military Causes

How Did Rome Rise and Fall? by Anita Croy
Publication Date: 2018
EBOOK: Sora & Follett
CHAPTER: Why did Rome fall? pp. 65-81
SECTION HEADING: The Empire Splits
PUBLISHER: Cavendish Square

The Ancient Roman World by Ronald Mellor and Marni McGee (PDF)
Published in 2004
BOOK
SECTION: Chapter 26 - The Empire, Divided and Defeated - The Fall of Rome, pp. 168-172
PUBLISHER: Oxford

The Roman World: From Republic to Empire by Peter Mantin (PDF)
Publication Date: 1992
BOOK
SECTION: pp. 72-75
PUBLISHER: Cambridge University Press

The Decline and Fall of Rome by Christopher Cumo - ABC-CLIO
This article focuses on the challenges the Roman Army faced which weakened it and contributed to Rome's decline.
DATABASE: World History Ancient and Medieval Eras
PUBLISHER: ABC-CLIO

A Weakened Army and Barbarian Invasions by Laszlo Kocsis - ABC-CLIO
This commentary argues that the Western Roman Empire's fall was due mainly to its own weakened military and the pressures of invasions by Germanic tribes.
DATABASE: World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
PUBLISHER: ABC-CLIO

8 Reasons Why Rome Fell by Evan Andrews - History
WEBSITE: History
SECTION: 4. Overexpansion and military overspending

The Fall of the Roman Empire - Independence Hall Association, Philadelphia, PA
WEBSITE: Ancient Civilizations
SECTION: Christianity - Scroll down to the paragraph that starts with the words: "There were political and military difficulties, as well." to find what contributed to Rome's military problems and the weakening of its armies.

Barbarian Invasions

How Did Rome Rise and Fall? by Anita Croy
Publication Date: 2018
EBOOK: Sora & Follett
CHAPTER: Why did Rome fall? pp. 67-
SECTION HEADING: Under Threat
PUBLISHER: Cavendish Square

The Usborne Encyclopedia of the Roman World: Internet-Linked by Fiona Chandler (PDF)
Publication Date: 2002
BOOK
SECTION HEADING: Barbarians and Byzantines, pp. 92-93
PUBLISHER: Scholastic

Middle Ages by David S. Bachrach
ENCYCLOPEDIA: World Book Student
ARTICLE TITLE: Middle Ages
SECTION HEADING: The Fall of Rome

Middle School - Britannica School
ENCYCLOPEDIA: World Book Student
ARTICLE TITLE: Middle Ages
SECTION HEADING: The Fall of Rome

The Roman World: From Republic to Empire by Peter Mantin (PDF)
Publication Date: 1992
BOOK
SECTION: pp. 72-75
PUBLISHER: Cambridge University Press

Did the Barbarian Invasions Cause Rome's Fall? by Don Nardo
EBOOK: Cause & Effect: The Fall of Rome by Don Nardo (GALE)
SECTION: Chapter Two

The Fall of the Roman Empire - Middle Ages Reference Library
EBOOK: Middle Ages Reference Library (GALE)
NO MAIN AUTHOR
SECTION: The Fall of Rome - pp. 7-18

A Weakened Army and Barbarian Invasions by Laszlo Kocsis - ABC-CLIO
This commentary argues that the Western Roman Empire's fall was due mainly to its own weakened military and the pressures of invasions by Germanic tribes.
DATABASE: World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
PUBLISHER: ABC-CLIO

8 Reasons Why Rome Fell by Evan Andrews - History
WEBSITE: History
SECTION: 1. Invasions by Barbarian tribes
SECTION: 6. The arrival of the Huns and the migration of the Barbarian tribes

Political Causes

How Did Rome Rise and Fall? by Anita Croy
Publication Date: 2018
EBOOK: Sora & Follett
CHAPTER: Why did Rome fall? pp. 68-
SECTION HEADINGS: Weak Leadership & The Empire Splits
PUBLISHER: Cavendish Square

The Ancient Roman World by Ronald Mellor and Marni McGee (PDF)
Published in 2004
BOOK
SECTION: Chapter 26 - The Empire, Divided and Defeated - The Fall of Rome, pp. 168-172
PUBLISHER: Oxford

The Roman World: From Republic to Empire by Peter Mantin (PDF)
Publication Date: 1992
BOOK
SECTION: pp. 72-75
PUBLISHER: Cambridge University Press

Middle Ages by David S. Bachrach
ENCYCLOPEDIA: World Book Student
SECTION HEADING: The Fall of Rome

Did Internal Disunities Fatally Weaken Rome? by Don Nardo
EBOOK: Cause & Effect: The Fall of Rome by Don Nardo (GALE)
SECTION: Chapter Three

Why Did Rome Fall? by James Tschen-Emmons - ABC-CLIO
DATABASE: World History Ancient and Medieval Eras
PUBLISHER: ABC-CLIO
SECTION: Transformation vs. Fall > see 2nd paragraph

8 Reasons Why Rome Fell by Evan Andrews - History
WEBSITE: History
SECTION: 5. Government corruption and political instability

Economic Causes

How Did Rome Rise and Fall? by Anita Croy
Publication Date: 2018
EBOOK: Sora & Follett
CHAPTER: Why did Rome fall? pp. 68-
SECTION HEADINGS: No More Money pp. 76-80
PUBLISHER: Cavendish Square

The Roman World: From Republic to Empire by Peter Mantin (PDF)
Publication Date: 1992
BOOK
SECTION: pp. 72-75
PUBLISHER: Cambridge University Press

The Usborne Encyclopedia of the Roman World: Internet-Linked by Fiona Chandler (PDF)
Publication Date: 2002
BOOK
SECTION HEADING: The Empire Weakens, pp. 88-89
PUBLISHER: Scholastic

Did Economic and Military Factors Destroy Rome? by Don Nardo
EBOOK: Cause & Effect: The Fall of Rome by Don Nardo (GALE)
SECTION: Chapter 4

Decline and Fall of Ancient Rome by Michael Burgan - Infobase
DATABASE: Ancient and Mediaeval History
PUBLISHER: INFOBASE
SECTION: Transformation vs. Fall > see 2nd paragraph

Disease and Economic Crisis by Zachary Anderson
EBOOK: The Fall of Rome and the Rise of Constantinople by Zachary Anderson - FOLLETT (Unlimited copies)
SECTION: Chapter Three -The End of the Empire
HEADING: Disease and Economic Crisis, pp.32-33

8 Reasons Why Rome Fell by Evan Andrews - History
WEBSITE: History
SECTION: 2. Economic troubles and overreliance on slave labor

The Fall of the Roman Empire - Independence Hall Association, Philadelphia, PA
WEBSITE: Ancient Civilizations
SECTION: Christianity - Scroll down to the paragraph that starts with the words: "Other fundamental problems contributed to the fall." to find what contributed to Rome's financial problems and its economic decline.

Social Causes

The Usborne Encyclopedia of the Roman World: Internet-Linked by Fiona Chandler (PDF)
Publication Date: 2002
BOOK
SECTION HEADING: The Rise of Christianity, pp. 90-91
PUBLISHER: Scholastic

Did Internal Disunities Fatally Weaken Rome? by Don Nardo
EBOOK: Cause & Effect: The Fall of Rome by Don Nardo (GALE)
SECTION: Chapter Three

8 Reasons Why Rome Fell by Evan Andrews - History
WEBSITE: History
SECTION: 7. Christianity and the loss of traditional values

History of Rome by Michael Grant (PDF)
Publication date: 1978
BOOK
SECTION: Chapter 21, pp. 437-450
PUBLISHER: Charles Scribner's Sons

The Fall of the Roman Empire - Independence Hall Association, Philadelphia, PA
WEBSITE: Ancient Civilizations
SECTION: Christianity

Further Resources

Coins Are Clues - Discover How

The Fall of Rome: Archeology Unlocks the Secret of Rome's Past - National Geographic