START HERE - 8 HUM - Wax Museum - LibGuides at Berkeley Carroll School

Biographical research

The databases and library resources in this guide are excellent resources to use in order find more information about your subject including brief factual entries, lengthy and detailed articles, and summaries of a person's contribution to their field.

General Encyclopedias & Reference Sources

Encyclopedias and reference sources:

provide a quick start for your research
provide background and survey articles by experts and scholars in the field
are often accompanied by a bibliography of key books and articles

CREDO Source This link opens in a new window
EXPLORE RELATED CONCEPTS!
Use this database to gather initial background information about your research topic, to explore related concepts, to find full text resources for your bibliography, and to learn more about additional resources that may be available.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window

Biographical Resources

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, and multimedia content. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers.

American National Biography (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
"Offers portraits of more than 19,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- who lives have shaped the nation."

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) This link opens in a new window
Biographies and portraits of famous, infamous, and fascinating people from every period of British history.

General Databases Which Include Biographical Information

Explora (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Reference, magazine, newspaper, perspective and peer-reviewed articles on all subjects.
ProQuest Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central Student is a multi-subject database with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals. It is an ideal place to begin research.
Search multiple databases on the ProQuest platform including: Academic Video Online, Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, ProQuest Central Student, ProQuest Professional Education, and Publicly Available Content Database.