LibGuides: Upper School Research: General Research Databases

Reference Encyclopedias

CREDO This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Includes the following research tools: World Atlas, Compare Countries, Original Sources, Database Resources, The World Factbook, and the Merriam-Webster Collegiate dictionary.
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Reference articles on all subjects.

Academic Journals

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, primary sources and books. Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.
ProQuest Academic This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central Student is a multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals. Why use this resource? ProQuest Student is a large, multi-subject database which is an ideal place to begin research. What's included? ProQuest Central covers all major disciplines, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Includes full text newspapers.  
Search multiple databases on the ProQuest platform including: Academic Video Online, Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, ProQuest Central Student, ProQuest Professional Education, and Publicly Available Content Database.
Explora (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Reference, magazine, newspaper, perspective and peer-reviewed articles on all subjects.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Features peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. Best for academic research.
- Why search here? Academic OneFile is a comprehensive database that allows you to find peer-reviewed, full-text articles in many subject areas, including the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more.
- What's included? It contains thousands of academic journals, the majority in full text HTML and PDF formats, and hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from

Academic eBooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Academic and reference eBooks on all subjects. Each patron has a unique password. Please consult password page or contact your librarian.
Gale eBooks (Gale eBooks) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBook is a searchable, multidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias and full-text online reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform.
What's included? Subjects covered include: history, literature, science, math, the arts, and more.

NYPL Digital Research Books
Find millions of digital books for research from multiple sources world-wide--all free to read, download, and keep. No library card required.

Streaming Video and Image Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.
Classroom Videos on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
A curriculum-focused video subscription created for high schools providing unlimited access to thousands of multi subject videos for ALL departments. New content is added regularly.
Swank This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures’ film streaming platform offers exclusive access to a large library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films available to K-12 schools for instructional support.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window Explore millions of images, from the best collections in the world.Why search here? This is a great source for high quality, trustworthy images for assignments and projects.What's included? Britannica ImageQuest contains over 3.5 million rights-cleared images that aren't freely available on the web. They are sourced from from 62 leading collections and can be used for educational, non-commercial use. How do I cite it? Click on the Cite button and select the citation style to find information about your specific item. Please note that the citation provided may not match style rules or include all components specified by a style manual. For teachers: Find curriculum-relevant images to use in your classroom activities and ensure safe exploration of a broad offering of legal digital media for your students. The collections are free of advertising and from trusted sources like:National Portrait Gallery of London,Chicago History Museum,National History Museum in London,National Geographic,Getty Images, andBritannica. 
Reminder: Ask your librarian the best way to save your images.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
"The Artstor Digital Library is a database of 2 million images for use in the humanities. Comprised of nearly 300 collections from museums, archives, scholars, and artists, the Artstor Digital Library makes available high-qualities images for download, along with tools for exporting images into PowerPoint and creating citations."

Current Events

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.