LibGuides: Upper School Research: Databases by Subject

Science

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
Science Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is the world's leading database of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature.

To access off campus, contact Ms. Murphy for a Registration ID.
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access information, including scholarly journals and magazines on the latest scientific developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Updated daily.
Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access, browse and read digital magazines on your desktop computer or mobile device. The Flipster app for mobile devices is available through both the Apple and Google Play stores.
ProQuest Academic This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases on the ProQuest platform including: Academic Video Online, Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, ProQuest Central Student, ProQuest Professional Education, and Publicly Available Content Database.

Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Understand environmental issues, including health care and climate change, that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests through access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students in grades 9+, researchers, and health care professionals.
Health Reference Center (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

World History & Culture

Ancient & Medieval History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on history from prehistory to 1500.

Modern World History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on history from 1500 to the present day.

World Religions (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on religion and culture from prehistory to the present.
World Religions Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today.

CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains reference articles on more than 200 countries, get a kid's-eye view of daily life around the world and find reports on all of the U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and territories.

UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage
Discover multiple ways to navigate through a dynamic and interactive space of vibrant intangible cultural heritage practices and expressions. See how together they represent a rich cultural diversity.

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Reference articles and primary documents on American and world history.

American History & Culture

American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on American history from the era of early exploration (1350) to the present.
American History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Issues & Controversies in American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Reference articles on trends in popular culture in the U.S. by decade from the 1900s to the 2000s, providing some socio-political background.

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Reference articles and primary documents on American and world history.

African-American History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
Ebony Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Ebony Magazine Archive covers African-American business, history & politics, education, entertainment, fashion, culture and much more between the years 1945-2014.
JET Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Jet Magazine Archive provides access to issues from 1951 through 2014 covering politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus.

American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on the histories and contemporary cultures of Native Americans. Includes CLIOview, a state-based population census tool.
American Indian History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.

American Indian Digital History Project
Welcome to the American Indian Digital History Project, a Digital History Cooperative founded to recover and preserve rare Indigenous newspapers, photographs, and archival materials from all across Native North America.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: A Guide to Resources at the Library of Congress
"This guide brings together resources at the Library of Congress that relate to Indigenous communities in the Americas. Follow the links at left to explore research guides, digital collection material, Story Maps, and event video recordings."

Latino American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on the history and culture of Latinos in Latin America and the United States. Includes CLIOview, a state-based population census tool.

New York Times Machine This link opens in a new window
TimesMachine is a browser-based digital replica of all issues of The New York Times from 1851-2002.
Magazine Archives (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search the archive for the following magazines simultaneously: Ebony, Jet, Life, and Time.
Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window

Brooklyn History Collections
From The Brooklyn Public Library.
Digital Collections
Explore 1,059,266 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.

Arts

Monologues for Teens
from Daily Actor
Monologues for Teenagers
from Drama Notebook
30 Acting Monologues for Teens to Try Out
from Backstage
By Matthew Nerber | Last Updated: March 8, 2024

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
"The Artstor Digital Library is a database of 2 million images for use in the humanities. Comprised of nearly 300 collections from museums, archives, scholars, and artists, the Artstor Digital Library makes available high-qualities images for download, along with tools for exporting images into PowerPoint and creating citations."
Oxford Art Online (Grove Art) This link opens in a new window
The gateway into art research and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications which include Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Oxford Music Online (Grove Music) This link opens in a new window
Reference articles on music.

World Languages

Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Access nine languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Arabic and Portuguese.

CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains reference articles on more than 200 countries, get a kid's-eye view of daily life around the world and find reports on all of the U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and territories.

UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage
Discover multiple ways to navigate through a dynamic and interactive space of vibrant intangible cultural heritage practices and expressions. See how together they represent a rich cultural diversity.

Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
BrainPOP Español This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionaries - Spanish Language This link opens in a new window

English

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window

Gale Literature Ebooks

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, primary sources and books. Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Academic and reference eBooks on all subjects. Each patron has a unique password. Please consult password page or contact your librarian.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Historical dictionary of the English language.

Biographies

American National Biography (Oxford) This link opens in a new window "Offers portraits of more than 19,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- who lives have shaped the nation."
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, and multimedia content. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) This link opens in a new window Biographies and portraits of famous, infamous, and fascinating people from every period of British history.