LibGuides: 8 HUM: Pre-Colonial Africa &amp; India: Home

Objective

Use one historical lens to focus on the successes in Africa & India prior to the influences of European colonization. Your Canva flyer should have one paragraph written by one member of your group, pictures to represent the main ideas in the paragraphs, and a section that lists your resources.

Lens Focus:

Political, Social, Economic, Religion, Military & Technology, Arts/Education

African Kingdoms:

Medieval Ghana, Medieval Mali, Kingdom of Songhai, Kingdom of Great Zimbabwe, Kingdom of Kush, Kingdom of Aksum

Indian Empires

Maurya Empire, Kushan Empire, Gupta Empire, Gurjara-Pratihara Dynasty

Research Tips

Keyword Search

To find relevant information in databases start by using the same keywords and related words to search across databases. In addition, you can revise your search to include important names of organizations and people, issues, places, and specific aspects of your topic.

General Encyclopedias

Search for an overview of your topic

► TIP ⇒ SEARCH keywords "African Kingdoms" in Scholastic Go to find the article: African Kingdoms and Empires which includes sections about Ghana, Mali, Songhai, and Aksum.

⇒SEARCH "Great Zimbabwe" and "Kingdom of Kush" separately to find articles on these two topics.

Scholastic Go This link opens in a new window

Britannica School This link opens in a new window

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window

Recommended Library Databases

Find more specific, in depth information

► Find articles for all research topics in this ABC-CLIO database:

World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window

►Find articles for many topics in Gale's Middle School database:

Middle School (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more with age-appropriate videos, references content, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.

Recommended Websites

Blackpast BlackPast is dedicated to providing reliable information on the history of Black people across the globe, and especially in North America. Our goal is to promote greater understanding of our common human experience through knowledge of the diversity of the Black experience and the ubiquity of the global Black presence. Welcome to the largest online encyclopedia on African American and Global African history on the Internet.

Find Images

Why use Britannica Images?

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Explore millions of images, from the best collections in the world.
Why search here? This is a great source for high quality, trustworthy images for assignments and projects.
What's included? Britannica ImageQuest contains over 3.5 million rights-cleared images that aren't freely available on the web. They are sourced from from 62 leading collections and can be used for educational, non-commercial use.
How do I cite it? Click on the Cite button and select the citation style to find information about your specific item. Please note that the citation provided may not match style rules or include all components specified by a style manual.
For teachers: Find curriculum-relevant images to use in your classroom activities and ensure safe exploration of a broad offering of legal digital media for your students. The collections are free of advertising and from trusted sources like:
- National Portrait Gallery of London,
- Chicago History Museum,
- National History Museum in London,
- National Geographic,
- Getty Images, and
- Britannica.
Reminder: Ask your librarian the best way to save your images.