Skip to Main Content

local_library Libraries: Upper School

"Supporting critical, ethical and global thinking."

Health: Drug Research Project

Overview

Marijuana (From the Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse)
Covers marijuana cultivation, use, legality, and myths.
Marijuana (From the Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors)
Includes background information on marijuana trends, related disorders, legality, and treatment.

Legal History

Marijuana and the Law
Includes information specific to marijuana law including medical cannabis and decriminalization.
Marijuana and Law Enforcement
Jump to the section titled "Law Enforcement" for information regarding possession, prosecution, and fines.

Social History

History of Marijuana
Presents an overview of marijuana's history and its introduction to the west.
Marijuana and Pop Culture
Covers marijuana's use and influence in music and movies.

Health Effects

Marijuana (From "The Truth About Drugs," Second Edition)
Lists active ingredients and effects of marijuana with additional information on use and medical marijuana.
Marijuana (From the Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Third Edition)
Includes health effects of marijuana use including a detailed look at the brain regions affected by consumption.

Addiction + Treatment

Marijuana Addiction and Treatment
Consists of information on Cannabis Use Disorder, withdrawal, and approaches to treatment.
Alcohol, Other Depressants, and Marijuana
Jump to "The Cannabinoids: Marijuana" for symptoms and information on withdrawal.