LibGuides: 8 HUM: NYC Policy Paper: Home

Getting Started

You have been hired by the Mayor’s office to research and summarize a systemic issue, how the left and right feel about the issue, and recommend policy changes. You will become an expert in a NYC issue and share your reporting with the Mayor’s office.

Select one of the following major issues to research:

Criminal Justice: ex. Bail reform, Riker’s Island or policing/crime

Sanitation: ex. garbage, rats, etc.

Mental Illness/Mental Health:

Immigration: ex. We are a shelter city, housing, employment, etc.

Public Transportation: ex. safety, efficiency, etc.

Affordable Housing: ex. neighborhood placement, funding, etc.

Healthcare: cost, disparities in care based on race or gender, etc.

Find Current News

The New York Times This link opens in a new window
All Berkeley Carroll students, faculty, and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, thanks to our school-wide library subscription. We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience.

Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Full-text access to the Wall Street Journal, a business-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City.

Washington Post (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Find Background Information & Opposing Sides of an Issue

Search your topic in an encyclopedia:

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window

Search a database that contains a variety of resources (overviews, news opinions):

EBSCO - Explora This link opens in a new window
Reference, magazine, newspaper, perspective and peer-reviewed articles on all subjects.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions and continuously updated information on hundreds of today's important social issues.

Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.

Find multiple viewpoints (left, right and center) on the same story:

AllSides
All Sides provides multiple viewpoints on the same story and rates the bias as falling on the left, right, or in the center so that you can see how different news sources are covering it.