LibGuides: Databases by Subject +Resouces by Subject: History

African-American History

African-American History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window

American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on the histories and contemporary cultures of Native Americans. Includes CLIOview, a state-based population census tool.
American Indian History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.

Latino American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on the history and culture of Latinos in Latin America and the United States. Includes CLIOview, a state-based population census tool.

American History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

American Women's History Online (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window
A topic center that includes a suggested reading list of articles on American women culled from the database American History Online (Facts on File).

Issues & Controversies in American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

Middle School (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more with age-appropriate videos, references content, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
High School (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources including magazines, news, multimedia and more.
Gale eBooks (Gale eBooks) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBook is a searchable, multidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias and full-text online reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform.
What's included? Subjects covered include: history, literature, science, math, the arts, and more.

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Reference articles and primary documents on American and world history.
CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains reference articles on more than 200 countries, get a kid's-eye view of daily life around the world and find reports on all of the U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and territories.

Ancient & Medieval History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.

World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on history from prehistory to 1500.

Modern World History Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps.

World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Primary documents and reference articles on history from 1500 to the present day.