Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technology In Practice

Tips For Teaching w/Technology

Quizizz

About Quizizz:

Quizizz is a free quiz, and flashcard creating platform. On Quizizz, teachers can create their own quizzes in multiple formats for any subject, or content area. There is also a library on Quizizz of pre-created quizzes available in many different content areas, which are available to browse, use, & assign to your class for free.
Quizzing formats in Quizizz include:
  • Multiple Choice
  • Checkbox
  • Fill-in-the-blank
  • Poll
  • Open-ended

Technology Requirements:

Teachers can create, and assign quizzes on Quizizz from any device. However, it is probably easiest to use Quizizz on a laptop.

Students can interact with Quizizz from the Quizizz app (iPads), or on an Internet browser (Safari, or Chrome) once the quiz code has been shared with them. 

Here is a link with the minimum device requirements for Quizizz listed!

How Is Quizizz Different From Quizlet?

Quizizz provides many different quizzing options (see above), where as Quizlet is primarily different ways of engaging with flashcards (vocabulary-based).
Below is a short video introduction to Quizizz:

Account Information:

All features of Quizizz are currently free, with no restrictions, for K-12 teachers.

Creating a Free Quizizz Account:

You must create an account before you can create your first quiz on Quizizz. To do this:
  • Navigate to: quizizz.com
  • Click "For Schools"
  • Click "Get Started"

 .

  • Click "Sign up with Google" (using your BC email address & password
  • There are then a few other questions they will ask you about your school (not captured here), that are pretty straightforward!

    

  • When you reach this screen (below), it will ask you to select the content areas & subjects you teach, but will not make a difference when you're creating your own quizzes


Signing Into Your Quizizz Account:

Make sure you are continuing to sign in with Google, once your account has been created.
  • You can log into your Quizizz account anytime, from https://quizizz.com/login, and Clicking "Login with Gmail." Make sure to log in using your Berkeley Carroll email address.

Creating a Quiz:

The video below shows you the basics of creating a Quiz on Quizizz. 
You can watch this Tutorial as a video, or view it at your own pace as a scrollable list of steps (Select "View it - List" and scroll down on the dropdown menu for this option.)

1 From your Quizizz profile page, Click Create a new quiz

Step 1 image

2 Type to Name your quiz

Step 2 image

3 Select the relevant subject if applicable, or press "Other" (These are the general classes you selected when you first set up your account, not a specific Class you might have linked from Google Classroom)

Step 3 image

4 Click Next

Step 4 image

5 Now, select the type of question you want to add. You can add any, or all of these question types to one quiz.

Step 5 image

6 Type your Question & multiple answer choices

Step 6 image

7 Note that the "Preview" mode on the right will automatically update with your question & answer text.

Step 7 image

8 Select the Checkmark next to the correct answer

Step 8 image

9 You can add a Math function, or Image to any of your answers by clicking those corresponding icons. You can either have an image, or text on your answer options, not both.

Step 9 image

10 You also have the option add a Math function, Image or Audio to each question.

Step 10 image

11 Click SAVE (this just saves the question, not the whole quiz)

Step 11 image

12 Click New question to keep adding questions

Step 12 image

13 Fill in the blank option:
You could do a TRUE/FALSE question here, or a vocabulary fill in the blank. Type your question & answer in the provided boxes.

There is also a space to add alternative answers, if this is applicable to your question.

Step 13 image

14 Open-ended example: Have your students write a definition (Open-ended means it does not have to match any words exactly)

Step 14 image

15 Adjust the duration menu if you think your students will need more time to answer a specific question. 

Step 15 image

16 When you have added all of your questions, Click DONE on the upper-righthand corner

Step 16 image

17 Select the Grade level that this quiz is for.

You can also add an image to your quiz on this screen.

Step 17 image

18 Make sure the visibility of your Quiz is set to Public

Tip: Your students will be able to access this Quiz, even if they do not have Quizizz accounts. If you make your quiz Private, then nobody will be able to access your Quiz besides you.

Step 18 image

19 Click Save to save your Quiz

Step 19 image

Here's an interactive tutorial

https://www.iorad.com/player/1685551/Quizizz---How-to-create-a-Quiz-on-Quizizz

Creating a Class on Quizizz:

You can watch this Tutorial as a video, or view it at your own pace as a scrollable list of steps (Select "View it - List" and scroll down on the dropdown menu for this option.)

1 After you've logged in, click "Classes"

Step 1 image

2 Click Connect Google Classroom

Step 2 image

3 Sign in with your Berkeley Carroll email address. Click "Allow."

Step 3 image

4 Click Import Google Classes

Step 4 image

5 Select the classes you wish to import

Step 5 image

6 Deselect Require students to enter a guardian's email address (this is just to share Quizizz progress reports with parents)

Step 6 image

7 Click Save

Step 7 image

8 Click on Classes again, and you will see all of your Imported classes. When you connected your classes, an announcement was automatically sent to each class asking them to join your Class on Quizizz. On this screen, you will see who has accepted the

Step 8 image

Here's an interactive tutorial

https://www.iorad.com/player/1685632/Quizizz---How-to-untitled-task-name

Sharing Your Quizzes:

There are a few different ways you can share your Quiz with a class:
  • As a "Live" game (a lot like a Kahoot);
  • As asynchronous Homework (students play your Quiz against each other, but not Live)
  • As a Practice link (Students complete your Quiz alone, and on their own time)
The following tutorial shows how to do all 3...
You can watch this Tutorial as a video, or view it at your own pace as a scrollable list of steps (Select "View it - List" and scroll down on the dropdown menu for this option.)

1 Start on the My quizzes view

Step 1 image

2 Click on the Quiz you want to share

Step 2 image

3 1. To start a multiplayer Live Quiz, click Play Live

Step 3 image

4 Select Classic

Step 4 image

5 Click Continue

Step 5 image

6 The Game Code will then pop up.

If you're playing "Live," remotely, or in person, project or display the game code.

Step 6 image

7 Once all of your players have joined, click Start to start the game

Step 7 image

8 2. To start a multiplayer asynchronous game, click Assign HW.

For this option, students "compete" against one another, but on their own time (they just have to complete it by a certain day/time that you designate)

Step 8 image

9 Select the due date & time for completing this quiz

Step 9 image

10 Click Continue

Step 10 image

11 Then click Share a link

Step 11 image

12 Click Copy link to paste it on any platform, or Click Google Classroom to pull up your classes you want to assign the Quiz to

Step 12 image

13 3. To just assign your Quiz as homework (not as a multiplayer game), Click Practice

Step 13 image

14 Click Share practice link

Step 14 image

15 Click Copy link, or share it directly to Google Classroom

Step 15 image

Here's an interactive tutorial

https://www.iorad.com/player/1685633/Quizizz---How-to--share-your-Quizzes

Below are a few more "Frequently Asked Questions" that may help you use Quizizz in your teaching practice:


1. What is a "Report"?
2. Can I share one of the pre-created Quizzes with my class, instead of creating my own?
3. What is a "Collection"?

1. What is a "Report"?
 Reports show the status of Live quizzes, with data such as correct/incorrect answers per student. In Reports, you can also access data on Quizzes that have been completed.
  • To view Reports, make sure you are logged into your account, and then Click on the "Reports" tab.

Here is a short Reports Overview Video created by Quizizz that you can watch for more details.

2. Can I share one of the pre-created Quizzes with my class, instead of creating my own?
Yes! You can share any Quiz from the Quizizz library - even ones that you haven't made yourself.
  • To use a pre-created Quiz, click on "Find a Quiz." 

 

  • Click on a Quiz to view it.
  • If you find a Quiz you like, you can share it with your class just like one you've created, or save it to a collection! It's important that you look carefully through any pre-created Quiz, before sharing it with your class.

   


3. What is a "Collection"?
Collections are a way to organize the quizzes you have create by Topic, and also save any pre-created quizzes easily. 
  • To create a Collection, Click on the "Collections" tab, and then Click "Create a Collection."

.  

  • Name your Collection (Remember, Collections are for organizing your Quizzes by Topic).
  • Click "Create Collection" again to save it.

 

To save a Quiz to a Collection (either one you have made, or one that you have found in the Quizizz library):
  • Click "Save" on the Quiz you want to add to a collection.

undefined 

  • Select the Collection you would like to save your Quiz to, and then Click "Done" to save it.

 undefined

Here are a few ways you might use Quizizz - have students...

  • Play a Live quiz against each other on a specific subject (Remote, or IRL)
  • Test their knowledge of a specific subject, or content area by assigning a Practice quiz for homework
  • Find a fun quiz from the Quizizz library (there are thousands available), to play against each other during Advising, or another fun period

​Below are examples of Quizizz in practice:

(Under construction! If you have any Quizizz videos you have used in your teaching practice, send them my way!)

Here are more resources from the Quizizz support pages:


​Do you have a specific Quizizz question that you can't find the answer to?
Email Help Desk: helpdesk@berkeleycarroll.org with "App Request" in the Subject Line.

Do you want to see how other educators are using Quizlet? Interested in updates, or how they're approaching Remote Learning? Browse their Twitter feed!