To find the login and password information to access the databases outside of school, go to the Database Password Page.
Find a general overview of your topic.
Search Tip: Search by topic keyword - In your search results, look for alternate keywords and related topics to search next.
Britannica SchoolAn integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.
Search the entire library for your topic, browse by subject or search individual titles. The books featured below are in Gale's collection and relevant to your research.
"This book presents the most popular playhouse in Elizabethan England, the original Globe Theater, which once stood along the banks of the Thames River in London. The Globe staged plays by the greatest playwright of his day, William Shakespeare, had its life cut short by fire, and, in the twentieth century rose again to entertain thousands of visitors."
"Provides background and information on the culture and history of the Elizabethan period, biographies of significant men and women of the time, and primary sources that represent some of the most significant and studied documents of the era." UXL
"As with many writers before and since, William Shakespeare was influenced by the events that took shape all around him. Sweeping changes to EnglandOCOs politics, language, and culture that took place during his lifetime were the fertile ground from which the Bard drew inspiration. ShakespeareOCOs life is surveyed and the social context in which he created his greatest drama and poetry is examined."
"This resource brings the people and the events of the Renaissance and Reformation to life for today's students. Covering everything from Luther's Revolt to the writings of Shakespeare, the Renaissance and Reformation Reference Library fills the need for comprehensive coverage of this amazing time." UXL
"The Rough Guide to Shakespeare is the ultimate guide to the life and work of the world's greatest playwright; William Shakespeare. With full coverage of the 38 Shakespearian plays, including a synopsis, full character list, stage history and a critical essay for each, this comprehensive guide is both a quick reference and in-depth background guide for theatergoers, students, film buffs and lovers of literature alike. The Rough Guide to Shakespeare also explores Shakespeare's sonnets and Shakespeare's less well-known narrative poems, combined with fascinating accounts of Shakespeare's life and theatre, exploring in colourful detail each play's original performances. This fully updated guide includes a new 'My Shakespeare' chapter with directors & actors including Sir Ian McKellen, Christopher Plummer and Zoë Wanamaker, as well as tips for introducing your children to Shakespeare with recommended graphic novels, adaptations and DVDs for all age groups. With up-to-date reviews of the best films and audio recordings from Olivier to Luhrmann, and Kosintzev to Kurosawa, the Rough Guide to Shakespeare is a celebration of all classic and contemporary Shakespearian productions."
"Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview."