Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most of these resources require no logging in when you are on campus.
To log in to any of these resources off campus, please consult the
Please alert Ms. Murphy if you have any issues accessing any resource.
Academic Journal vs. Popular Magazine
Magazine articles are written and published for a general audience. These are great places to find inspiration for your research.
- Magazine articles found in Scientific American and Science News that can be accessed through Flipster.
Scholarly or academic journal articles are written for scholars or specialists written by experts in the field. These usually come from university research by professors and are reviewed by other experts in the field. While these articles can contain specialized, technical language and are often a bit trickier to access, the peer-review process ensures that their data are reliable.
Scholarly journal articles will contain detailed information, including:
- List of authors
- Abstract (a short paragraph summarizing their study and findings)
- Introduction that includes a hypothesis
- A detailed description of the scientific methods used
- Charts, graphs, or other visual representations of the results
- Discussion and/or conclusion
- List of references (usually there are many)
Example: A research article from the Public Library of Science
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Discover this large collection of peer-reviewed journals and books, highlighting historical context, current developments, theories, applications, trends and more.
To access off campus, contact Ms. Murphy for a Registration ID.
Science Online (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
Health Reference Center (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
GALE In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science in Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.
CREDO This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Reference articles on all subjects.
GALE OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
GALE OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, primary sources and books. Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.
ProQuest Platform This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases on the ProQuest platform including: Academic Video Online, Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, ProQuest Central Student, ProQuest Professional Education, and Publicly Available Content Database.
ProQuest Central Student is a multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Academic and reference eBooks on all subjects. Each patron has a unique password. Please consult password page or contact your librarian.
GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.