Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find a general overview of your topic.
Search Tip: Search by topic keyword - In your search results, look for alternate keywords and related topics to search next.
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.
Grolier Online includes eight different databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, Amazing Animals of the World, and The New Book of Popular Science.
The American Indian Experience - ABC-CLIO Database
American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO)
Primary documents and reference articles on the histories and contemporary cultures of Native Americans. Includes CLIOview, a state-based population census tool.
Issues and Controversies in American History - Facts On File Database
To FInd Database Passwords
For ABC-CLIO & Facts On File database passwords:
scroll down to Specialized Databases section - History & Social Sciences.
For Gale Virtual Reference Library password:
scroll down to EBOOKS section.
For Encyclopedia passwords:
scroll down to DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND REFERENCE section
Specialized Encyclopedias & Reference eBooks
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.
ProQuest eBooks & Databases
ProQuest Central K12
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.
To search the Historical New York Times:
- News & Issues
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times (1851-2010)
- Advanced Search
Enter topic keywords:
for example: ghost dance
In Search Options menu - Select "Specific date range" - enter relevant years
for example: 1889-1992
Indian Voices by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
"In Indian Voices, Alison Owings takes readers on a fresh journey across America, east to west, north to south, and around again. Owings's most recent oral history--engagingly written in a style that entertains and informs--documents what Native Americans say about themselves, their daily lives, and the world around them. Young and old from many tribal nations speak with candor, insight, and (unknown to many non-Natives) humor about what it is like to be a Native American in the twenty-first century. Through intimate interviews many also express their thoughts about the sometimes staggeringly ignorant, if often well-meaning, non-Natives they encounter--some who do not realize Native Americans still exist, much less that they speak English, have cell phones, use the Internet, and might attend powwows and power lunches. Indian Voices, an inspiring and important contribution to the literature about the original Americans, will make every reader rethink the past--and present--of the United States." --Publishers description.