Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MS Reading Recommendations: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Middle School Recommended Reading Guide! Here you'll find just a small sampling of the many amazing print books and eBooks that are available to check out. Find your grade (Grades 5 & 6 or Grades 7 & 8) in the tabs above to browse a selection of books in many genres. You can also find a great selection of eBooks, series and quizzes!

If you need help finding any books on the shelves or accessing our eBook collection, please reach out to Ms. Hartley-Maneri and Ms. Manning.

Useful Library Links

 

 

 

 

 

   Search library databases

 Find passwords to access databases outside of school

Looking for what to read next? Maybe a book trailer can help you decide!

eBooks in Sora

Learn how to access these eBooks on the eBooks tab!

eBooks in Destiny

Learn how to access these eBooks on the eBooks tab!

Book Slideshows From This Year

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Look for the Sora or Follet icons to know where you can find these books through Berkeley Carroll's online resources! If you need help accessing any of these books through Sora or Follet, refer to the MS Guide To The Library LibGuide, or reach out to one of your Librarians (Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Manning). You can also reach out to us if there's a book you'd like to read as an eBook that we don't currently have in our collection. We'll do our best to get it for you!

Here's a selection of books that have been "banned" or "challenged" in schools and libraries across the country (not at Berkeley Carroll). We present these books along with the questions, "Why might someone want to prevent another person from reading these texts?" We think about the issue of intellectual freedom (the right of every individual to both seek and receive information from all points of view without restriction) and your right to intellectual freedom through reading.

FLIPSTER by EBSCO - BC's Online Newsstand

 

Select any magazine to view in digital format.

To access off-campus, enter the username & password found on the Database Passwords page.

 

AVAILABLE TITLES:

 

The Atlantic ~  Beanz (formerly Kids, Code &  Computer Science) ~  Discover  ~  Faces  ~ MIT Technology Review ~ Muse ~  National Wildlife  ~ National Geographic España ~ Natural History ~ The New York Review of Books ~ New Yorker ‚Äč ~ Newsweek Mexico ~ Rolling Stone ~ Science News  ~  Scientific American  ~  Scientific American Mind  ~  Sports Illustrated  ~ Sports Illustrated Kids  ~ Time ~  Wacky But True ~ The Week Junior ~ The Week ~ Wired