LibGuides: Berkeley Carroll Middle School Library: Research Tips

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them - Yavapai College Library

SIFT - Stop, Investigate, Find, Trace

SIFT is a series of actions you can take to determine the validity and reliability of claims and sources on the web. SIFT is an additional set of skills to build on checklist approaches to evaluating online content. (Northeast WI Technical College)

Each letter in SIFT corresponds to one of the Four Moves:

Modified from Mike Caulfield's SIFT (Four Moves), which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Citation Tools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Sign in / Register with your BC Google Account

Featured Berkeley Carroll Databases

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.
CREDO This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Reference articles on all subjects.
GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Journal Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, primary sources and books. Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.
ProQuest Central K12 This link opens in a new window
GALE: Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Features peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
EBSCO - Explora This link opens in a new window
Reference, magazine, newspaper, perspective and peer-reviewed articles on all subjects.

eBooks

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Academic and reference eBooks on all subjects. Each patron has a unique password. Please consult password page or contact your librarian.
GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Newspaper & Magazine Articles

The New York Times This link opens in a new window
All Berkeley Carroll students, faculty, and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, thanks to our school-wide library subscription. We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience.

To activate your account, follow these instructions.

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Digital magazines.
National Geographic Magazine Subscription (GALE) This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: Includes National Geographic Magazine 1995-Current, Archive 1888-1994, People, Animals, and the World (PAWS), and NG Kids.

Images & Videos

Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Great source for rights-cleared images with citations.
Classroom Videos on Demand (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Videos on all subjects.

Historic Newspaper Articles

Times Machine This link opens in a new window
The New York Times from Volume 1, Issue 1 through 2002. Log in with your NYT account.

Chronicling America - Historic Newspapers from the Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Databases by Subject

Database Passwords

Remember - most of our databases do not require login credentials. But if it prompts you (usually this happens when you're off school property), you can access them on our Database Passwords page!

How To Create Your NYTimes.com Account

Use the following link to claim your free group pass:

On Campus

Go to nytimes.com/grouppass to grab a pass with IP authentication and follow these instructions:

Select "Create Account"
Complete the Sign Up form with your Berkeley Carroll email address. When you see the "Start Your Access" screen, you have successfully registered. Please note: you will need to repeat these steps to renew your free subscription each year. Set a calendar reminder to be notified when your pass will expire.

Returning Users

Once you have activated your account, you can log into your account from any computer at NYTimes.com.

Mobile Apps

To download your free NYTimes app for IOS or Android devices and log in on all your devices go to Help - NYTimes.com

Off Campus

Go to nytimes.com/passes to grab a pass with your BC email.

Berkeley Carroll Middle School Library: Research Tips

SEARCH ALL OF OUR LIBRARY DATABASES

THIS IS A NOT AN OFFICIAL BERKELEY CARROLL LIBGUIDE - IT IS A CLASS ASSIGNMENT THAT WILL BE UNPUBLISHED IN MAY 2022