Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Berkeley Carroll Middle School Library: For Families

This school library web page is a means through which we support Berkeley Carroll students, faculty, and parents - as well as promote our middle school library!

THIS IS A NOT AN OFFICIAL BERKELEY CARROLL LIBGUIDE - IT IS A CLASS ASSIGNMENT THAT WILL BE UNPUBLISHED IN MAY 2022

Quick and Helpful Links

Destiny Discover Grades 5-8 - LIBRARY CATALOG 
We still have an large, always growing physical library book collection! Search the MS Library or all BC Libraries for digital and print resources - books, ebooks, audiobooks, and more!


Search Library Databases
Are you helping your child with research, or homework at home? Berkeley Carroll subscribes to a variety of age-appropriate, reliable research databases. Want a "research 101" tutorial on how to access them? Reach out to the BC middle school librarians!

 Find Passwords to access databases outside of school
This page provides login information for all of our digital resources, which can be accessed on or off school grounds (with username & password).

Library FAQs - For Parents & Caregivers!

How many library books can my child check out at any one time?
Students may borrow up to five books at one time. If you have overdue books, please renew them or return them to the library so that they are available for other readers to check out.
How long can my child borrow a book for?
Library books may be borrowed for three weeks. You may renew books you are reading, as long as there is no one waiting for it.
If my child brings a book back late, is there a fine?
No, we do not charge fines for late books.
What do I do if I can't find a library book I checked out?
Let Ms. Hartley-Maneri know as soon as possible.
I would like to learn about the library's digital resources, so I can help my child with research. What do I do?
Ask your librarians for a quick 101 session!
My child needs help with their school device, or I have another tech question - what do I do?
Reach out to Ms. Aronofsky - maronofsky@berkeleycarroll.org. Her desk is also located in the middle school ibrary!

Parent & Caregiver Library Access

Parents, did you know you can use our library resources too? Come check out a book, explore our online databases, or ask the librarians to recommend a great read for you or your child! To set up a parent account in our catalog, email the middle school librarian - khartley-maneri@berkeleycarroll.org
We also have a section in Sora - our digital library -  specifically for our older students & adults. You can browse the collection here (or check out some of our curated recommendations below!)

Collections for Adults in our Community

The titles (digital & audiobook) linked on these lists are not visible to students below the 8th grade - so you will need a parent account to view them & check them out!

Featured Research Guides

Here is just a taste of the research guides we've created for students from each grade in the middle school!
BC librarians are consistently collaborating with classroom teachers to put together curated, reliable research sources for students in every content area! We also provide support in citing sources, media literacy, using technology responsibly, and more. To browse a larger selection of reseach guides that have been created in the past, click on this link.

About our eBook Collections

BC Libraries provide access to thousands of full-text ebooks. Use this guide to help you navigate the wealth of e-book resources BC has to offer. 

Search for Ebooks in Destiny Discover (the library catalog) or in the digital platform that hosts them:

Remember, access login info for our digital resources (at any time) on our Database Passwords Page.

If you need help finding or using any of our eBooks, please reach out to your librarians by email:
khartley-maneri@berkeleycarroll.org
lindick@berkeleycarroll.org


For specific reading recommendations - check out our Reading Recommendations page!

 

OverDrive is a digital library where you can borrow eBooks and audiobooks anytime and anywhere. Many schools and public libraries have OverDrive collections but each is different because every library selects the titles they want for their users. The Sora app was designed specifically for students. It's easy to use and one tap gets you inside a book. You can highlight text and take and export your notes. Your librarian can assign titles directly to you. 

All you need to borrow digital content from BC's OverDrive collection is your BC library card (User ID and Password).