Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Berkeley Carroll Middle School Library: For Faculty & Administration

This school library web page is a means through which we support Berkeley Carroll students, faculty, and parents - as well as promote our middle school library!

THIS IS A NOT AN OFFICIAL BERKELEY CARROLL LIBGUIDE - IT IS A CLASS ASSIGNMENT THAT WILL BE UNPUBLISHED IN MAY 2022

Quick and Helpful Links

Destiny Discover Grades 5-8 - LIBRARY CATALOG 
We still have an large, always growing physical library book collection! Search the MS Library or all BC Libraries for digital and print resources - books, ebooks, audiobooks, and more!


Search Library Databases
Are you helping your student with research? Berkeley Carroll subscribes to a variety of age-appropriate, reliable research databases. Want a "research 101" tutorial on how to use them? Reach out to the BC middle school librarians!

Find Passwords to access databases outside of school
This page provides login information for all of our digital resources, which can be accessed on or off school grounds (with username & password).

How Your Librarians Can Support You In The Classroom

Do you want help compiling a reliable, curated resource list for a project?

The library will work with you to create a guide for your classroom - in any content area! To browse a selection of Libguides that have been created in the past, click on this link.

Do you want help introducing a tech tool to your students?

Aidan, Kris & Manuela are more than happy to help introduce tech (remote, or IRL) to your class. We can also spend time, or an entire Digital Essentials class period helping your students, or supplementing an existing project in your curriculum!

If it makes sense for one of us to come in more than other (ex: Do you want Kris' database, or Sora expertise? Aidan's website building skills?) We can come into your class even if we don't regularly teach Digital Essentials in that grade. 

Just let us know as a team in advance, & we will work out the logistics. We are also as excited as you are to help in a more significant way with interdisciplinary projects. Let's collaborate!

Don't Snooze on SORA! (And our other eBook Collections)

BC Libraries provide access to thousands of full-text ebooks. Use this guide to help you navigate the wealth of e-book resources BC has to offer. 

Search for Ebooks in Destiny Discover (the library catalog) or in the digital platform that hosts them:

Remember, access login info for our digital resources (at any time) on our Database Passwords Page.

If you need help finding or using any of our eBooks, please reach out to your librarians by email:
khartley-maneri@berkeleycarroll.org
lindick@berkeleycarroll.org


For specific reading recommendations - check out our Reading Recommendations page!

 

OverDrive is a digital library where you can borrow eBooks and audiobooks anytime and anywhere. Many schools and public libraries have OverDrive collections but each is different because every library selects the titles they want for their users. The Sora app was designed specifically for students. It's easy to use and one tap gets you inside a book. You can highlight text and take and export your notes. Your librarian can assign titles directly to you. 

All you need to borrow digital content from BC's OverDrive collection is your BC library card (User ID and Password). 

More Helpful Slideshows & Presentations

Library & Technology in the Middle School: This slideshow from the 2021-2022 faculty work week has information about: The Tech and Library team; How we support faculty and students with their library and tech needs; Digital Essentials; Videos & Filtering; Middle School Technology Norms

Library & Technology Collaboration 101: This slideshow from the 2021-2022 faculty work week has information about: Collaboration best practices & the importance of advance notice; Information about student privacy concerns, videos, and filtering in the middle school; How we support faculty and students with their library and tech needs; Digital Essentials class; Tech & Library resources to bookmark

Streaming Video in the Classroom: A guide to our existing video resources, and modeling responsible video streaming in the middle school

Faculty Library Access

Faculty -  did you know you can use all of our library resources too? Come check out a book, explore our online databases, read books for professional development, or ask the librarians to recommend a great read for you! To learn your login credentials, stop by the middle school library!
We also have a section in Sora - our digital library -  specifically for our older students & adults. You can browse the collection here (or check out some of our curated recommendations below!)

The titles (digital & audiobook) linked on these lists are not visible to students below the 8th grade - so you will need a parent account to view them & check them out!

Featured Research Guides

Here is just a taste of the research guides we've created collaboratively with teachers from each grade in the middle school!

BC librarians are consistently collaborating with classroom teachers to put together curated, reliable research sources for students in every content area! We also provide support in citing sources, media literacy, using technology responsibly, and more. To browse a larger selection of Libguides that have been created in the past, click on this link.


How To Create Your NYTimes.com Account

Use the following link to claim your free group pass:

On Campus

Go to nytimes.com/grouppass to grab a pass with IP authentication and follow these instructions:

  • Select "Create Account"  

  • Complete the Sign Up form with your Berkeley Carroll email address. When you see the "Start Your Access" screen, you have successfully registered. Please note: you will need to repeat these steps to renew your free subscription each year. Set a calendar reminder to be notified when your pass will expire. 

Returning Users

Once you have activated your account, you can log into your account from any computer at NYTimes.com.

Mobile Apps

To download your free NYTimes app for IOS or Android devices and log in on all your devices go to  Help - NYTimes.com


Off Campus

Go to nytimes.com/passes to grab a pass with your BC email.

Professional Education Resources

About the Middle School Library

How many library books may I check out at any one time?

Faculty may borrow up to five books at one time. If you have overdue books, please renew them or return them to the library so that they are available for other readers to check out.

How long can I borrow a book for?

Library books may be borrowed for three weeks. You may renew books you are reading, as long as there is no one waiting for it.

If I bring a book back late, is there a fine?

No, we do not charge fines for late books.

What do I do if I can't find a library book I checked out?

Let your librarians know as soon as possible.

I need help with research. What do I do?

Set up a planning meeting with your librarians!

Kris Hartley-Maneri
Middle School Librarian & Director of Libraries and Information Resources
  • 7th Grade Advisor (2021-2022)
  • 7th Grade Digital Essentials teacher

FIND ME (usually): In the Middle School Library!


Laura Indick

Middle School Library Assistant
lindick@berkeleycarroll.org
 
FIND ME (usually): In the Middle School Library!

Manuela Aronofsky

Middle School Tech Integrator
maronofsky@berkeleycarroll.org
  • Middle School Equity & Inclusion Coordinator
  • 8th Grade Advisor (2021-2022)
  • 5th & 8th Grade Digital Essentials 

FIND ME (usually): At the Knowledge Bar!** (Located in the Middle School Library)

Monday to Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

We're so excited that the library is back in action & circulating books for students & teachers! We're still only open during the school day, but if you need to access, or use the library outside of these hours reach out to a librarian!

Books & Bytes

This is a (semi-regular!) newsletter Aidan Lucey, Kris Hartley-Maneri, and Manuela Aronofsky send out as a team. It collects middle school tech & library updates, as well as the occasional book rec, app feature, and digital student showcase. You will also receive it via email.

Join us every month in the library for a Bagels, Books & Bytes Tech & Library Learning Session! (These take place on the last Monday of the month, from 7:45-8:15 AM - just before Homeroom!)

Policies & Helpful Documents

Policies, Norms & Agreements:

  • BC Library Materials Selection Policy (2021-2022): A policy providing an overview of the materials in our library, and how we select materials for the collection.

  • Berkeley Carroll Technology and Network Acceptable Use PolicyGuidelines for the whole school (students, and adults) that govern the efficient, ethical, and legal utilization of the tech resources we use.

  • Middle School Student School-Issued Device Agreement: Students will review and be familiar with the norms around their school-issued device, which are listed in this agreement. If you have a question about what is, or isn’t allowed on a school-issued device, check here first. 

  • Remote Learning Norms: Students who have been asked to quarantine, and are Zooming into the classroom should follow the norms listed in this document

  • BC Tech Wiki: This wiki provides instructions for anything else tech-related  that you may use, or have questions about such as  WiFi, Zoom, Veracross, 1Password, and more. Check here before emailing Help Desk. This is put together by the entire tech team, and is used by all divisions. 
     

Technology in Practice Libguide

The Technology in Practice guide was put together by Manuela, and is meant as an introduction point for a curated selection of the tech tools that are available to you as Berkeley Carroll teachers. The tech tools (apps, websites, add-ons, etc.), are tools you may be using already, tools you requested extra support for, or tools we thought would be helpful in enriching your classes (both remotely, and in person!) There are also pages on video streaming, Google Classroom, helpful tech documents, and more.