Skip to main content

**MS Faculty Resources: Home

Check Out BCs OverDrive Collection - Find Professional, Adult, Young Adult, Middle Grade & Picture Book Titles in eBook & Audiobook format.

MS Library & Grade LibGuides

 

 

            

Essential Library Links

Find passwords to access library databases & resources outside of school. 

 

 

Library Resources for Lower, Middle & Upper School.

Professional Education Resources

JSTOR Daily

How To Set Up Your Free Digital Access to The New York Times Remotely

 
BC Libraries is pleased to offer you and your students free digital access to The New York Times from any location and your subscription includes NYT Cooking! 
 
To claim your pass, follow these steps:
  1. Go to nytimes.com/grouppass.
  2. Create a free NYTimes.com  account using your BC school email address. If you already have an NYTimes account associated with such email address, log in with those credentials.
  3. Check your email inbox for our confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn't arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn't there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.
  4. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.

Visit nytimes.com/Mobile to download NYTimes mobile apps.

 
If you have questions or any problems registering, just stop by the library or email Ms. Hartley-Maneri for help.

Search Tips: Articles from 1851-1980 can be accessed through the archive search. Search historical issues & primary sources through the Times Machine which has over 150 years of  NY Times journalism in its original newspaper format starting with Volume 1, Number 1 in 1851 through 2002!

BC's Digital OverDrive Collection - Borrow eBooks & Audiobooks

Getting Started with OverDrive -  Your BC library card consists of your username (the first part of your BC email address (ex. jsmith) and your PIN password. Find your PIN on the Database Passwords page or email your librarian.

 

 

Or Try Sora, OverDrive's new user friendly app

Go to the  Sora help guide to get started borrowing eBooks and audiobooks from BC's OverDrive collection and to learn how to get the most out of your reading experience.

FLIPSTER by EBSCO - BC's Online Newsstand

 

Select any magazine to view in digital format.

To access off-campus, enter the username & password found on the Database Passwords page.

 

AVAILABLE TITLES:

 

The Atlantic ~  Beanz (formerly Kids, Code &  Computer Science) ~  Discover  ~  Faces  ~ MIT Technology Review ~ Muse ~  National Wildlife  ~ National Geographic España ~ Natural History ~ The New York Review of Books ~ New Yorker ​ ~ Newsweek Mexico ~ Rolling Stone ~ Science News  ~  Scientific American  ~  Scientific American Mind  ~  Sports Illustrated  ~ Sports Illustrated Kids  ~ Time ~  Wacky But True ~ The Week Junior ~ The Week ~ Wired

 

 

 

Go to Flipster 101: Digital Magazines for how-to instructions

NEW in OverDrive/Sora - Our very own Emily Neuberger's debut novel!

Library Resources & Services

Your librarians offer a range of services and resources to support your curriculum and to help students be successful in their learning. Please reach out if you have questions.

What we offer:

Instruction: Librarian-led instruction and mini-lessons on resources and research skills, embedded in projects at their point of need, and tailored to help your students' be successful in their learning.

LibGuides: Request a resource guide for a selected topic or to support ongoing research in your classes. Collaboratively plan with your librarian so that the LibGuide is tailored to meet your learning goals.

ProgrammingRequest a book tasting to promote reading or a special program to meet your learning goals for your students.

 

Request Library purchases: Suggest resources to add to our print and digital collections to support your curriculum, to grow our professional collection or to read for pleasure. Your input is welcome!

 

What your librarians need from you:

  • Advance notice for instruction sessions, LibGuide creation and special events - Two week's notice is optimal, preferably more if possible.
  • Thorough communication: share resources, assignments and the project instructions you plan to provide to your students in advance. 
  • Inclusion in the planning process for research projects big or small whenever possible! 

Making A Library Reservation In Veracross

  • Follow these steps to reserve the library for your class during the school day

  • Once submitted, Ms. Hartley-Maneri will accept the reservation and you will be notified via email

Please note - event reservations after school hours must be done through SchoolDude. Ask Sabrina Harris or Anne Fenton for information on how to do this.

 

1. Log into the Faculty Portal in Veracross and select “Find Resources”

 

 

2. Under “View Available Places” click on “All Places”

 

 

3. Select the desired date for your reservation

 

 

4. Filter by “Name”

 

 

 

5. Scroll down to OR search “MS Library” 

  • This will show you the current library availability for that day

 

           

 

 

 

 

6. Click on “Reserve”

 

 

 

7. Select the date, fill in the time range, note your class in the description field, your group size, and specific activity or details in the notes field and then click “Reserve Resource”

 

You will receive an email when your reservation has been approved by Ms. Hartley-Maneri.

If there is a conflict or a need to reschedule you will be notified.