Skip to Main Content

**MS Faculty - Library Resources: Home

Check Out BCs OverDrive eBook & Audiobook Collection - Find Professional, Adult, Young Adult, Middle Grade & Picture Book Titles. See instructions below.

MS Library Home Page & Grade LibGuides

 

 

            

Key Library Links

   Search library databases

 Find passwords to access databases outside of school

Helpful Tech Links

Need help with library resources?

Profile Photo
Kris Hartley-Maneri
she/her
Contact:
Director of Libraries & Information Resources
Middle School Librarian
(718) 534-6537

Faculty Support & Services

Whatever form our learning environment takes, your librarians will adapt and continue to offer a range of services and resources to enrich and support your teaching, help students be successful in their learning and grow to become efficient, ethical users of information, and lifelong readers and learners.  

What we offer:

Instruction: Librarian-led instruction and tutorials on using library resources and developing research skills, embedded in your class instruction or project flow (both synchronous & asynchronous) at point of need.

LibGuides: Request a resource guide for a selected topic, to support ongoing research or independent reading. Collaboratively plan with your librarian so that the LibGuide is tailored to meet your learning goals for your students as well as their developmental needs and interests.

Programming: Request original programming to promote reading for enjoyment.

Request Library purchases: Suggest resources to add to our print and digital collections to support your curriculum, to grow our professional collection, or to read for pleasure. Your input and feedback are welcome!

 

What your librarians need from you:

  • Advance notice for instruction sessions, LibGuide creation, and programming - 2 weeks notice is helpful for in-depth work - more time even better!
  • Thorough communication: share resources, assignments, and the project instructions you plan to provide to your students in advance. 
  • Inclusion in the planning process for activities and projects big or small whenever possible! 

How To Set Up Your Free Digital Access to The New York Times Remotely

 
BC Libraries is pleased to offer you and your students free digital access to The New York Times from any location and your subscription includes NYT Cooking! 
 
To claim your pass, follow these steps:
  1. Go to nytimes.com/grouppass.
  2. Create a free NYTimes.com  account using your BC school email address. If you already have an NYTimes account associated with such email address, log in with those credentials.
  3. Check your email inbox for our confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn't arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn't there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.
  4. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.

Visit nytimes.com/Mobile to download NYTimes mobile apps.

 
If you have questions or any problems registering email khartley-maneri@berkeleycarroll.org for help.

Search Tips: Articles from 1851-1980 can be accessed through the archive search. Search historical issues & primary sources through the Times Machine which has over 150 years of  NY Times journalism in its original newspaper format starting with Volume 1, Number 1 in 1851 through 2002!

Featured Guide

BC's Digital OverDrive Collection - Borrow eBooks & Audiobooks

Get started with Sora!

Go to the  Sora help guide to get started borrowing eBooks and audiobooks from BC's OverDrive collection and to learn how to get the most out of your reading experience.

FLIPSTER by EBSCO - BC's Online Newsstand

 

Select any magazine to view in digital format.

To access off-campus, enter the username & password found on the Database Passwords page.

 

AVAILABLE TITLES:

 

Astronomy ~ The Atlantic ~  Beanz (formerly Kids, Code &  Computer Science) ~  Discover  ~  Faces  ~ MIT Technology Review ~ Muse ~  National Wildlife  ~ National Geographic España ~ Natural History ~ The New York Review of Books ~ New Yorker ​ ~ Newsweek Mexico ~ OYLA Youth Science ~ Science News  ~  Scientific American  ~  Scientific American Mind  ~  Smore Magazine  ~ Sports Illustrated Kids  ~ Time ~  Wacky But True ~ The Week Junior ~ The Week ~ Wired

 

 

 

Go to Flipster 101: Digital Magazines for how-to instructions

Professional Education Resources

JSTOR Daily