Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Essentials Choice Board

The Internet - Learn!

A few helpful definitions...


INTERNET: A large, international computer network, the Internet links tens of millions of users around the world. It is used daily by many individuals for such purposes as sending and receiving e-mail, obtaining mountains of information on almost any subject, social networking, buying and selling products, playing movies and music, and sharing videos and photos. The Internet allows people at far-flung locations to communicate and work collaboratively. It supports access to digital information by many applications, including the World Wide Web. (Britannica)

SOCIAL NETWORK: Hundreds of millions of computer users worldwide are members of online communities known as social networks. A social network allows individuals to exchange messages, share information, and, in some cases, cooperate on joint activities. The members create and maintain personal profiles that they link with those of other members. In this way, they establish a network of “friends” or “contacts” who have similar interests, business goals, or academic courses. Corporations, organizations, celebrities, and politicians also maintain profiles on social networking sites for marketing, sales, public-relations, or fund-raising purposes. (Britannica)

WWW (World Wide Web): The Internet’s leading information-retrieval service is the World Wide Web. People use the Web to obtain and share all kinds of information online, such as by conducting research, visiting social networking sites, purchasing products, reading newspapers and books, watching movies, sharing videos and images, reading and writing blogs, and making bank transactions. (Britannica)

WEB SITE: A collection of files and related resources on the Web is known as a Web site. A Web site typically consists of several Web pages, or individual files and associated media. The main or introductory page of a Web site is usually called the site’s home page. (Britannica)

Want to read more about the Internet? Our Britannica Schools online encyclopedia has many more articles on the Internet & it's related subjects! Find login information on the Database Passwords page if you're accessing the database from home...

Image: jeferrb "Network, lot, Internet of things" Pixabay, 25 May 2015.

This history is taken from the Britannica School Encyclopedia, which has many more articles on the Internet & it's related subjects! Find login information on the Database Passwords page if you're accessing the database from home...


The World Wide Web was developed by British computer scientist Tim Berners-Lee and his colleagues at CERN, an international scientific organization based in Geneva, Switzerland, starting in 1989. Berners-Lee wanted to provide researchers with the ability to share their results and techniques without having to exchange e-mail constantly. In 1990–91 he wrote the software for the first Web server (the central repository for the files to be shared) and the first Web client, or browser (the program to access and display files retrieved from the server). He and his colleagues released their text-based Web browser to the general public in 1992.

 

The World Wide Web did not become truly popular until a graphical Web browser called Mosaic was released in 1993. It was developed in the United States by Marc Andreessen and others at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois. Mosaic allowed people using the Web to use the same sort of “point-and-click” graphical manipulations that had been available in personal computers for some years. In 1994 Andreessen cofounded Netscape Communications Corporation, which released the browser Netscape Navigator later that year. It soon became the most popular tool for accessing the Internet, though it was later eclipsed by other browsers, especially Microsoft’s Internet Explorer. By the mid-1990s the World Wide Web had millions of active users.

CLICK ON THE IMAGE TO BE TAKEN TO THE BRAINPOP ACTIVITY PAGE

IF YOU'RE PROMPTED TO LOG IN, USE THE INFORMATION ON THE DATABASE PASSWORDS PAGE --> "BRAINPOP"

INTERNET:

INTERNET SEARCH:

BINARY:

CLOUD COMPUTING:

The Internet - Watch!