LibGuides: DEBATE Resources: Home

OED

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Historical dictionary of the English language.

JStor

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals, Primary Sources and full-text academic ebooks for your research.

Opposing Viewpoints

GALE In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated information and opinions cover hot issues.

Issues & Controversies (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window
Provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.

World News Digest (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative world news coverage from 1940 through today: provides information, context, and perspective.

The New York Times

The New York Times This link opens in a new window
All Berkeley Carroll students, faculty, and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, thanks to our school-wide library subscription. We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience.

Your BC subscription gives you unlimited access to articles from The New York Times.

Search historical issues & primary sources through the Times Machine which has over 150 years of NY Times journalism in its original newspaper format!

Here's how to claim your pass for full digital access.

Proquest

ProQuest Platform This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, popular magazines and scholarly journals.

To search current news - go to subject area: News & Issues

Canadian, US & International Newsstream
Global Breaking Newswires

Search tip: use Advanced Search to search by publication title

EBSCO

EBSCO - Explora This link opens in a new window
Reference, magazine, newspaper, perspective and peer-reviewed articles on all subjects.

Search Tip: Search Student Resource Center

Flipster - Digital Magazines

BC's Flipster website
Read magazines online on a computer or mobile device. To read offline, download magazines from the BCS Flipster website to the mobile app.

NEW to Flipster:

The New York Review of Books

Useful Library Links

Destiny Discover Grades 5-8 - LIBRARY CATALOG This link opens in a new window
Search the MS Library or all BC Libraries for digital and print resources - books, ebooks, audiobooks, and more!

Search library databases

Find passwords to access databases outside of school

Google Scholar

Public Forum Debate - Case Development & Evidence

Research several arguments on both sides of the issue.

Effective persuasion requires credible, unbiased, quality supporting evidence, including:

facts
statistics
expert quotations
studies
polls

Select the best evidence to support the teams claims.