Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Start Your Research
Begin your research by going to your topic page and reading about the civil rights leader you have chosen to research.
Questions about this guide? Ask your librarian for help!
Encyclopedias - Middle School
Search for your topic in one or more of the encyclopedias listed below. Use important keywords for the best results.
Go to the Database Passwords page to access online resources outside of school or ask your librarian for help.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.
Search tip: Start your search in the Elementary OR Middle level. Move to the High School level as needed.
Search tip: Start your search in World Book Student and then search World Book Advanced for more detailed information.
Search the Library Catalog for Books, eBooks & more
To FInd Database Passwords
Go to the Database Password Page to find the usernames and passwords to access BCS encyclopedias, databases and eBooks outside of school.
Britannica Image Quest
Find and use rights-cleared images.
Search tip: use keywords to find a selection of images of people, places, events and artifacts.
*Be sure to cite the images you use. Copy the MLA citation on the lower right hand side.
BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
Search tip: Enter your topic into the search box or search by subject.