LibGuides: First-Generation Affinity Group: CultureGrams Database

CultureGrams Database

CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The CultureGrams database contains reference articles on more than 200 countries, and provides a kids-eye view of daily life around the world! You can use the CultureGrams database to find facts on different countries & cultures. (Tip: You can use either the World Edition, or the Kids Edition, but the World Edition usually has more comprehensive information).

Access CultureGrams From Home

Access CultureGrams from home:

Navigate to our Database Passwords page, and type in the login credentials (username & password) for Proquest.

Useful Library Links

Destiny Discover Grades 5-8 - LIBRARY CATALOG This link opens in a new window
Search the MS Library or all BC Libraries for digital and print resources - books, ebooks, audiobooks, and more!

Search library databases

Find passwords to access databases outside of school

Finding Cultural Information By Country or Region

1. From the database home page, click on the World Edition box

2. Select a "region" or "country" from the dropdown menu

3. Once you're in a country or region page, locate specific information on the left-hand side menu, such as climate, population, or popular customs

More Fun Tips On Using CultureGrams

Start from the World Edition box

Read Interviews with people from different countries!

Search Tip: The interviews are arranged by country. For example, click on "P" to read interviews with people from Pakistan.

Find lists of famous people by country of origin

Start from the World Edition home screen, and navigate to the "Famous People" tab.

View graphs, or tables with specific data by country: such as statistics on population, transportation, or education.

Tip: You can even make your own customized table of data comparing statistics from different countries! From the left-hand menu, click on "Build-Your-Own."