Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

7th Grade Science Research: 1. Finding Background Information

Getting Started - Finding Background Information

Reading background information to learn about your topic is the first step to gaining an understanding of your topic, learning new vocabulary, brainstorming search terms, and to ultimately forming a working research question.

Useful Library Links

 

 

 

 

 

   Search library databases

 Find passwords to access databases outside of school

DATABASE TIPS

PERMALINKS

Finding the correct link to save for a database article that you need to return to can be tricky. To make it more complicated, it's different for each database. Copying the URL from the address bar does not always work.

Use these instructions to help you find the permalink for each database article you need to save and return to for your research and citations.

Satellite Mission Project - Selected Resources

Citizen Science Topics

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

Databases for 7th Grade Science Research - Best Bets

The New York Times - Get full digital access both in & outside of school

Your BC subscription gives you unlimited access to articles from The New York Times. 

 Articles from 1851-1980 can be accessed through the archive search. Search historical issues & primary sources through the Times Machine which has over 150 years of  NY Times journalism in its original newspaper format starting with Volume 1, Number 1 in 1851 through 2002!

HOW TO CREATE OR REACTIVATE YOUR NY TIMES ACCOUNT REMOTELY
 
If you have yet to activate your account or you need to reactivate it, follow these steps below. 
 
Visit nytimes.com/passes. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address with the approved domain(s).  If you already have a NYTimes.com account associated with such email address, log in with those credentials.
 
Check your email inbox for our confirmation message.  Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass.  If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.
 
You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.  Now you can enjoy access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
 
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
 
To claim a new Pass after expiration: visit nytimes.com/passes and log in with your NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address.

Here's how to claim your pass for full digital access to The New York Times:

  1. When you are on campus, visit nytimes.com/grouppass
  2. Create an account using your BC email address
  3. When you see "START YOUR ACCESS" and an expiration date (one year from the day you sign up), you are all set!
  4. Set a calendar reminder to renew for next year so you have no lag in your subscription.
  5. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location!