Reading background information to learn about your topic is the first step to gaining an understanding of your topic, learning new vocabulary, brainstorming search terms, and to ultimately forming a working research question.
Find passwords to access databases outside of school
Climate Change by Examines the impact of global warming on the planet, and what can be done to combat climate change.
Climate Change: an Encyclopedia of Science, Society, and Solutions [3 Volumes] by This three-volume set presents entries and primary sources that will impress on readers that what we do--or don't do--today regarding climate change will dramatically influence what life on this planet will be like for untold numbers of generations. * Provides readers with a clearly written description of global-warming science and its role in shaping a body of knowledge regarding a worldwide issue that affects everyone * Suggests remedies for this serious problem, most notably a rapid rise in the implementation of wind power generation and a coming revolution in solar energy * Impresses on readers that what Americans and the citizens and governments of other nations around the globe do over the next decades will determine the future of this planet for many tens of thousands of years to come * Includes primary documents sourced from major scientific journals and from the many reports on recent climate change from governmental organizations, including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and World Meteorological Organization (WMO), both part of the United Nations; and the U.S. government's National Climate Assessment
Climate Change: Examining the Facts by Climate change is one of the most controversial and misunderstood issues of the 21st century. This book provides a clear understanding of the issue by presenting scientific facts to refute falsehoods and misinformation--and to confirm the validity of other assertions. * Provides a broad overview of the subject of climate change that is specifically written to be accessible and interesting for senior high school or introductory college-level audiences * Presents a comprehensive explanation of the science of climate change that directly addresses widely held misconceptions head-on--a strategy that has been demonstrated in education research to be more effective in dispelling myths and advancing student learning than straight fact-based teaching * Focuses on providing quantifiable, evidence-based information on climate change--and acknowleding instances when conflicting data exists--from the most reputable and qualified sources
Climate Systems by Many scientists today refer to the phenomenon of 'global warming' as 'climate change' because they feel it is a better overall description of the situation. While it is certainly true that the atmosphere is warming up, that is only one part of the problem. As the Earth's atmosphere continues to warm, glaciers and ice caps are melting, the sea level is rising, seasons are shifting, and storms are becoming more intense. Some ecosystems are shifting where they still can; others are beginning to fail. In short, humans are changing the Earth's climate - and not for the better. Climate Systems gives students the basic scientific framework needed to understand how climate systems work and what global warming involves. Outlining the concepts of global systems, climate cycles, and the atmosphere's structure, this full-color book discusses the local motions in the atmosphere that affect weather and climate - from regional and local wind systems to extreme weather and emergency preparedness. This informative volume also examines various countries and how they contribute to the problem as well as strategies for coping with global climate change, current research, and what lies ahead. Chapters of this guide include: Elements of the Climate System; the Carbon Cycle and Its Links to Other Major Cycles; Plate Tectonics - Climate and Movement of the Earth's Continents; the Flow of Energy; Planetary and Global Motions in the Atmosphere that Affect Climate; Local Motions in the Atmosphere That Affect Weather and Climate; Ocean Currents; the Global Warming Issue; the Big Picture; and, Conclusions and a Glance into the Future.
Encyclopedia of Climate Change by This new edition of The Encyclopedia of Climate Change provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change, including scientific descriptions and explanations of all factors, from carbon dioxide to sunspots, that might contribute to climate change.
Engineering Response to Climate Change by A clear, concise discussion of today's hottest topics in climate change, including adapting to climate change and geo-engineering to mitigate the effects of change, Engineering Response to Climate Change, Second Edition takes on the tough questions of what to do and offers real solutions to the practical problems caused by radical changes in the Earth's climate. From energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions reduction, to climate-altering technologies, this new edition explores the latest concerns such as acidification of the ocean, energy efficiency, transportation, space solar power, and future and emerging possibilities. The editors set the stage by discussing the separate issues of the emissions of radiatively important atmospheric constituents, energy demand, energy supply, agriculture, water resources, coastal hazards, adaption strategies, and geo-engineering. They explain the difference between the natural and human drivers of climate change and describe how humans have influenced the global climate during past decades. Each chapter concludes with discussion questions, calculations, and possible research topics. See What's in the Second Edition: New conceptual tools and research necessary for problems associated with fossil fuels Cutting-edge topics such as adaption and geo-engineering The latest concerns such as acidification of the ocean, energy efficiency, transportation, and space solar power Solutions to problems caused by changes in the Earth's climate So much has changed in the 15 years since the publication of the first edition, that this is, in effect, a completely new book. However, the general theme is the same: the climate energy problem has become largely an engineering problem. With this in mind, the book explores what engineers can do to prevent, mitigate, or adapt to climate change.Define the following key terms and concepts:
Phenology, Phenophases, Phenological Mismatch & Climate Change
Find a working definition of phenological mismatch in the following New York Times article:
Expand your knowledge of Phenology and Phenophases by reading this article and watching the video (see below) created and published by Budburst, a project of the Chicago Botanic Garden posted below. (Found with a Google Search keywords: "climate change definition of terms plant related phenophases")
This article is published under a Creative Commons License. See the terms of use for Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY).
