Participants will design and construct their very own miniature car, which they will be able to race on a prefabricated race track. They will be challenged to bring their "creativity, cleverness and ingenuity" as they problem solve. This activity will be run by Nerdy Derby. (See photo to right, courtesy of Nerdy Derby)
To learn more about Nerdy Derby, please visit the company's Facebook, Twitter or Vimeo pages.
Explore, design, and build arches or create your own architectural wonder with input from professional architects.
Houses by
Dwellings through the ages from every culture are explored in this unique introduction to human habitats.
Buildings in Disguise by 
The Unofficial LEGO Builder's Guide by
What's the difference between a tile and a plate? Why isn't it a good idea to stack bricks in columns to make a wall? How do you build a LEGO mosaic or build at different scales? You'll find the answers to these and other questions in The Unofficial LEGO Builder's Guide.Now in full color, this brand-new edition of a well-loved favorite will show you how to: Construct models that won't fall apart Choose the right pieces and substitute when needed Build to micro, jumbo, and miniland scale Make playable board games out of LEGO pieces Create photo mosaics and curved sculptures Build a miniature space shuttle, a minifig-sized train station, and more Of course, the real fun of LEGO building lies in creating your own models—from choosing the subject to clicking that final brick into place. Learn how in The Unofficial LEGO Builder's Guide.Includes the Brickopedia, a visual dictionary of nearly 300 of the most commonly used LEGO elements!
Cool Structures by
Discover secret math and science tricks to creating art! This title introduces young readers to the sciences, with a creative twist. Math and science educational pages are interspersed with cool structure activities that offer practical applications of the information students learn in class. All activities include how-to photos, easy instructions, and clear explanations. Reinforce Common Core Standards in reading, math, and science, while making cool art projects, from a wooden bridge to a spaghetti tower. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Architecture by 
Art and Architecture
Building Big by
Why this shape and not that? Why steel instead of concrete or stone? Why put it here and not over there? These are the kinds of questions that David Macaulay asks himself when he observes an architectural wonder. These questions take him back to the basic process of design from which all structures begin, from the realization of a need for the structure to the struggles of the engineers and designers to map out and create the final construction. As only he can, David Macaulay engages readers' imaginations and gets them thinking about structures they see and use every day -- bridges, tunnels, skyscrapers, domes, and dams. In Building Big he focuses on the connections between the planning and design problems and the solutions that are finally reached. Whether a structure is imposing or inspiring, he shows us that common sense and logic play just as important a part in architecture as imagination and technology do. As always, Macaulay inspires readers of all ages to look at their world in a new way.
Think like an engineer and build an apparatus that scientists can use to solve real world problems! You will step into the role of an engineer to design and build a gel electrophoresis box to separate dyes in a powdered drink. Gel electrophoresis is a laboratory method used to separate mixtures of DNA, RNA, or proteins according to molecular size.
Gel Electrophoresis. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Engineers Solve Problems by
Most people try to avoid problems--but not engineers! They go out and look for problems! In this fun, new title readers will learn about the kinds of problems engineers help solve. Readers are also introduced to the tool engineers use to solve problems: The Engineering Design Process.
Forensic Science by A building challenge station using only cups, cubes, and craft sticks.
Effect of Pressure on Styrofoam Cup... Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Out of the Box by
Twenty-five interactive cardboard model projects that engage kids' creativity and "out of the box" thinking skills through hands-on learning and the application of science-based principles. Kids can bring old cardboard to life and build recycled creations they can play with, sit in, and wear. Supporting STEAM education initiatives and the Maker Movement, Out of the Box includes 25 interactive cardboard model projects to inspire kids' creativity through engaged and hands-on learning, and, as the founder of Maker Faire Dale Dougherty says, "to realize with their hands what they can imagine in their minds." From small-scale gifts to large constructions, author and award-winning paper engineer Jemma Westing uses clear, step-by-step instructions to show kids how to make dinosaurs, masks, race cars, and so much more, and inspirational images encourage them to make their own unique models when they are feeling more confident. The projects utilize only recycled materials, including cardboard rolls and boxes, so all the supplies should be easy to find right at home. Build something brilliant with Out of the Box. The possibilities are endless!
Build it with Boxes by
An entertaining book that tells how to make a variety of toys from empty boxes.
Magic Books and Paper Toys by
Everyone loves a good book, but what's better than one you've made by hand? And not just any straightforward book, but simple pop-up books, flip books, magic pamphlets, pop-up maps, and accordions! Esther K. Smith, author of How to Make Books, unlocks the secrets of making tricky book forms even if you've never worked with paper before. While some of these 25 projects can be made by kids with a little help from mom or dad, all are designed with the adult in mind--the adult who's a kid at heart! With step-by-step directions and charming illustrations, a few carefully placed cuts and an array of folds and twists almost magically become a colorful, multidimensional book.
Learn programming using Scratch or Hopscotch.
Who Was Steve Jobs? by
Steve Jobs, adopted in infancy by a family in San Francisco, packed a lot of life into fifty-six short years. In this Who Was? biography, children will learn how his obsession with computers and technology at an early age led him to co-found and run Apple, in addition to turning Pixar into a ground-breaking animation studio. A college dropout, Jobs took unconventional steps in his path to success and inspired the best and the brightest to come with him and “change the world.”
Doppler Radar, Satellites, and Computer Models by
How do scientists predict the weather? What tools and instruments help them make forecasts? How far in advance can they make good predictions? Weather forecasting is a tricky science. In this fact-packed book, discover what it really takes to forecast Earth's weather.
Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak, and the Personal Computer by
Tells the story of how Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak developed the personal computer. Written in graphic-novel format.
Meanwhile by
Chocolate or Vanilla? This simple choice is all it takes to get started with Meanwhile, the wildly inventive creation of comics mastermind Jason Shiga, of whom Scott McCloud said #147;Crazy + Genius = Shiga.” Jimmy, whose every move is under your control, finds himself in a mad scientist’s lab, where he’s given a choice between three amazing objects: a mind-reading device, a time-travel machine, or the Killitron 3000 (which is as ominous as it sounds). Down each of these paths there are puzzles, mysterious clues, and shocking revelations. It’s up to the reader to lead Jimmy to success or disaster. Meanwhile is a wholly original story of invention, discovery, and saving the world, told through a system of tabs that take you forward, backward, upside down, and right side up again. Each read creates a new adventure! nbsp; Awards and praise for Jason Shiga nbsp; 2004 Eisner Award 2003 Ignatz Award 2007 Stumpton Trophy Award 1999 Xeric Grant Recipient nbsp; #147;Crazy + Genius = Shiga” #151;Scott McCloud, author of Understanding Comics nbsp; #147;If humankind ever finds itself at the brink of its own destruction and I am given the task to fill a small, space-bound time capsule with a collection of ten graphic novels that would present to alien eyes the best that the cartoonists of Earth had to offer the universe, Jason Shiga's Meanwhile would surely be among my picks.” #151;Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese nbsp; #147;A creator of comix that can be at once funny, disturbing, thoughtful, deconstructed, and cleverly put together.” #151;Time online nbsp; #147;Meanwhile is a wallop of a book/graphic novel! It delivers action, choices, problem solving, and engagement. And it reminds me of my own efforts in writing Choose Your Own Adventure, which I take as a great compliment coming from Jason Shiga. I wish I had written this book! Run, don’t walk, to your favorite bookseller and pick up a copy!” #151;R. A. Montgomery, Choose Your Own Adventure author nbsp; #147;Ingenious” #151;Edward Packard, Choose Your Own Adventure author
Digital Storytelling by
Digital what? Bring your storytelling into the 21st century This exciting teaching tool includes tutorials with a step-by-step guide for building personal stories and creating digital videos, sounds, and images. Projects are easily adaptable for teacher and librarian collaboration, and students can learn to create or find digital videos, sounds, and images.
The Digital Age (1947 - Present Day) by
The later decades of the 20th century brought no bigger development than the rise of the computer and the Internet. Cars, entertainment, learning-even household appliances were controlled by microchips. There were other developments too, including the deciphering of human genetics. In this book, readers will gain a better understanding of how the digital age has changed the way we live our lives. Sidebars and timelines put finer details in accessible focus.
Design and construct structures made either with dowels and rubber bands or toothpicks and marshmallows.
Marshmallows. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Candy Construction by
Build a candy fantasy! Use ordinary store-bought candy and cookies as the raw material for a brand-new kind of crafting, where castles are made with wafer-cookie walls and race cars have Oreos for wheels. Sharon Bowers provides step-by-step instructions for dozens of whimsical and fun projects that will have you seeing candy in a whole new way. From licorice pirates and centipedes made from Life Savers to marshmallow aliens and candy bento boxes, the sweet possibilities are endless.
51 Things to Make with Toilet Rolls by
51 Things to Make with Cardboard Tubes, transforms unwanted cardboard tubes into dinosaurs, monsters, ocean life and much more. Perfect activities for parents and children to create together, the 51 projects feature a well-balanced mix of techniques, materials, colors, and styles for a range of ages.
Alternacrafts by
With an emphasis on recycling, making projects from scratch, and improvisation - as well as detailed, easy-to-understand instructions - this title gives crafters the skills they need to self-express, by shaping their own environments, whether they're working on their bodies, their bedrooms, their lockers at school, or their first apartments.
Awesome Craft Stick Science by 
Make - Easy 1+2+3 Projects by
From the pages of Make: magazine comes this collection of dozens of projects you can make in your home or school workshop. You'll learn how to create toys and games from stuff you have lying around, create unusual and inspiring home improvements, and even find some new ways to have fun outdoors. You might even learn something along the way: electronics, flight, science, math, and engineering. In this book, you'll make: Batteries from everyday things Banana tattoos LED throwies Piezo contact microphone Paper water bomber Box fan beef jerky
Come be a lab technician and learn how to easily extract strawberry DNA. Deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) is a complex molecule found in all living organisms.
Stronger Than Steel by
In Stronger Than Steel, readers enter Randy Lewis' lab where they come face to face with golden orb weaver spiders, and transgenic alfalfa, silkworm silk, and goats, whose milk contains the proteins to spin spider silk--and to weave a nearly indestructible fiber. Learn how this amazing material might someday be used to repair or replace human ligaments and bones, improve body armor, strengthen parachute rope, and even tether an airplane to an aircraft carrier! Readers explore rapid advancements in the application of genetic medicine and their potential to save and improve lives while considering the crucial ethical concerns of genetic research. A timely addition to the acclaimed Scientists in the Field series.
Below are the books and ebooks in the BCS collection that are related to this activity.
The Genius in All of Us by
With irresistibly persuasive vigor, David Shenk debunks the long-standing notion of genetic "giftedness," and presents dazzling new scientific research showing how greatness is in the reach of every individual. DNA does not make us who we are. "Forget everything you think you know about genes, talent, and intelligence," he writes. "In recent years, a mountain of scientific evidence has emerged suggesting a completely new paradigm: not talent scarcity, but latent talent abundance." Integrating cutting-edge research from a wide swath of disciplines--cognitive science, genetics, biology, child development--Shenk offers a highly optimistic new view of human potential. The problem isn't our inadequate genetic assets, but our inability, so far, to tap into what we already have. IQ testing and widespread acceptance of "innate" abilities have created an unnecessarily pessimistic view of humanity--and fostered much misdirected public policy, especially in education. The truth is much more exciting. Genes are not a "blueprint" that bless some with greatness and doom most of us to mediocrity or worse. Rather our individual destinies are a product of the complex interplay between genes and outside stimuli-a dynamic that we, as people and as parents, can influence. This is a revolutionary and optimistic message. We are not prisoners of our DNA. We all have the potential for greatness.
The Violinist's Thumb by
From New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean comes more incredible stories of science, history, language, and music, as told by our own DNA. In The Disappearing Spoon, bestselling author Sam Kean unlocked the mysteries of the periodic table. In THE VIOLINIST'S THUMB, he explores the wonders of the magical building block of life: DNA. There are genes to explain crazy cat ladies, why other people have no fingerprints, and why some people survive nuclear bombs. Genes illuminate everything from JFK's bronze skin (it wasn't a tan) to Einstein's genius. They prove that Neanderthals and humans bred thousands of years more recently than any of us would feel comfortable thinking. They can even allow some people, because of the exceptional flexibility of their thumbs and fingers, to become truly singular violinists. Kean's vibrant storytelling once again makes science entertaining, explaining human history and whimsy while showing how DNA will influence our species' future.
Decoding Life by 
Barbara Mcclintock by
Barbara McClintock was a pioneering scientist in the field of genetics at a time when nearly all scientists were men. Her experiments with corn led to the surprising discovery that genes can move over generations from one place on the genome to another and even from one type of organism to another. In 1983, almost forty years after her discovery of "jumping genes," McClintock became the first woman ever to be awarded an unshared Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine.
More powerful thank you think! The slim shape of dominoes, lined up, contain potential energy, and fall beautifully. Come experiment with setting them up, varying the distances, and knocking them down! How does the distance affect the speed?
Domino Effect: Falling in Succession in S, Curve Pattern. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
The Book of Games by
This lavishly illustrated 736-page reference provides a lifetime of entertainment! It contains complete rules, playing tips, and instructive move-by-move examples of 65 fun and diverse games. They range from Senat, a pastime enjoyed by King Tut, to Hex, invented by a 20th-century mathematician; from strategy games like Siege of Paris to dice games like Chuck-a-Luck to chase games like Pachisi; from Asian Shogi to African Wari; and from traditional Chess and Go to modern creations like Mastermind and Othello. Colorful illustrations show old-time and modern players, game boards, and equipment alongside fascinating anecdotes and curious facts about games throughout history. For every player, this one’s a sure winner!
Use Fibonacci numbers to create art in the style of Piet Mondrian and add music to figure out the long and short beats in music.
Fibonacci numbers in a pinecone. Photography. Encyclopedia Brittanica Image Quest. Web. 10 February 2017.
Fascinating Fibonaccis by 
Growing Patterns by
The biggest mathematical mystery in nature--Fibonacci numbers! Named after a famous mathematician, the number pattern is simple: 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13. . . . Each number in the sequence comes from adding the two numbers before it. What's the mystery? The pattern crops up in the most unexpected places. You'll find it in the disk of a sunflower, the skin of a pineapple, and the spiral of a nautilus shell. No one knows how nature came up with the sequence. Sarah C. and Richard P. Campbell introduce the Fibonacci sequence through a series of stunning photographs in this ALA Notable Children's Book. Young readers will soon be seeing nature through new eyes, looking for Fibonacci numbers in daisies, pinecones, leaf patterns, seashells, and more.
Problem solve how to keep a boat made of a milk carton afloat.
Boat by
Full-color photos. Discover the history and workings of boats and ships--what life was like aboard an 18th-century schooner, how giant trawlers locate schools of fish, and how various ships are built and stay afloat.  
Boats by
A book for small children that introduces boats from around the world and explains their differences.
Boat by Come construct beautiful geometric solids from paper straws and wire. These pieces of art contain polygons and become polyhedra!
Modern Art. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 31 Aug 2017.
Islamic Art by Learn about the process of fermentation while creating a traditional side dish made of vegetables.
Kimchi. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Babies Can't Eat Kimchee! by
When a baby sister comes along, it seems she is just too little for anything! Will she ever be big enough to play? To whisper secrets? To eat kimchee? Will she always lie there? Scream for no reason? Be so helpless and little? When a baby sister is just TOO LITTLE to do anything, what's her big sister to do but wait and wait and WAIT . . . and dream about what's to come. Susan Roth and Nancy Patz have collaborated on a stunning and heartwarming story of two Korean sisters, celebrating in glorious color a universal bond between a tiny baby sister and her loving big sister.
Culinary Reactions by
Exploring the scientific principles behind everyday recipes, this informative blend of lab book and cookbook reveals that cooks are actually chemists. Following or modifying recipes is shown to be an experiment with acids and bases, emulsions and suspensions, gels and foams. This easy-to-follow primer includes recipes that demonstrate the scientific concepts, such as Whipped Creamsicle Topping (a foam), Cherry Dream Cheese (a protein gel), and Lemonade with Chameleon Eggs (an acid indicator). Also included in this fun, fact-filled companion are answers to various culinary curiosities, such as How does altering the ratio of flour, sugar, yeast, salt, butter, and water affect how high bread rises? and Why is whipped cream made with nitrous oxide rather than the more common carbon dioxide?
Learn basic knitting while gaining an appreciation for the art, science and math involved.
Beginnings of piece of knitting on pair of knitting needles. Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 10 Feb 2017.
Kids! Picture Yourself Knitting by 
Knitting by 
Kids Can Knit by 
Crafty Creativity by
If you've always wanted to make your own clothes, jewelry, and gifts, but don't know where to start, this is the book for you! Crafty Creativity offers a fascinating introduction to a broad range of crafts - from sewing, knitting, and making jewelry, to collage, scrap booking, and designing greetings cards. Packed with loads of simple projects, clear instructions, diagrams, and tips on craft techniques, this book demonstrates that even an absolute beginner can succeed in making useful and beautiful items.
Did you know math is often applied to art and design? Mathematician/sculptor and co-founder of New York’s Math Museum George Hart will work with students of all ages to assemble a wooden geometric sculpture (like the ones above) and explain the steps and underlying geometric ideas. The sculpture will be displayed on campus to illustrate the beauty of mathematics.
Image retrieved from https://www.berkeleycarroll.org/academics/steam-at-berkeley-carroll/bc-steam-fair.
Kokedama is a Japanese art form that produces not only a living planter but a beautiful display piece. We will make moss balls by taking a root ball of a plant and suspending it in a mud ball, then wrapping it in green moss.
Creating a hanging basket. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Come make crazy creations at the magnetic slime station! Make the slime dance with magnet wands and learn how to make your own magnetic slime at home. Great for all ages.
Slime. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 31 Aug 2017.
How to Make Slime by
What substance can act like both a solid and a liquid? Slime! Want to find out how to make your own? Just follow the simple steps inside this book
Science Experiments Book by
Science has never been so easy--or so much fun! With The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book, all you need to do is gather a few household items and you can recreate dozens of mind-blowing, kid-tested science experiments. High school science teacher Tom Robinson shows you how to expand your scientific horizons--from biology to chemistry to physics to outer space. You'll discover answers to questions like: Is it possible to blow up a balloon without actually blowing into it? What is inside coins? Can a magnet ever be "turned off"? Do toilets always flush in the same direction? Can a swimming pool be cleaned with just the breath of one person? You won't want to wait for a rainy day or your school's science fair to test these cool experiments for yourself!
Magnets by
Kids like to ask questions about how everything works, and here's where they can find the answers. These books cover basic science concepts with vivid photographs, clear text, and a variety of simple experiments.
Build a network of tracks for a marble to complete a variety of tasks.
Marbles. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Machines Go to Work by
Toddlers love machines and things that go, and this book gives them everything they want, from a cement mixer to a helicopter to a backhoe. Six interactive gatefolds extend the original pictures to three pages, revealing something new about each situation. The final double gatefold opens into a very long train and shows all the machines at work! The last spread provides additional information about each machine for young readers to pore over again and again. William Low’s classically trained artist’s eye adds a new layer to this genre—both parents and children will appreciate the beautiful illustrations, the attention to detail, and the clever situational twists revealed by lifting the flaps.
The New Way Things Work by
The information age is upon us, baffling us with thousands of complicated state-of-the-art technologies. To help make sense of the computer age, David Macaulay brings us The New Way Things Work. This completely updated and expanded edition describes twelve new machines and includes more than seventy new pages detailing the latest innovations. With an entirely new section that guides us through the complicated world of digital machinery, where masses of electronic information can be squeezed onto a single tiny microchip, this revised edition embraces all of the newest developments, from cars to watches. Each scientific principle is brilliantly explained--with the help of a charming, if rather slow-witted, woolly mammoth.
The Unofficial LEGO Builder's Guide by
What's the difference between a tile and a plate? Why isn't it a good idea to stack bricks in columns to make a wall? How do you build a LEGO mosaic or build at different scales? You'll find the answers to these and other questions in The Unofficial LEGO Builder's Guide.Now in full color, this brand-new edition of a well-loved favorite will show you how to: Construct models that won't fall apart Choose the right pieces and substitute when needed Build to micro, jumbo, and miniland scale Make playable board games out of LEGO pieces Create photo mosaics and curved sculptures Build a miniature space shuttle, a minifig-sized train station, and more Of course, the real fun of LEGO building lies in creating your own models—from choosing the subject to clicking that final brick into place. Learn how in The Unofficial LEGO Builder's Guide.Includes the Brickopedia, a visual dictionary of nearly 300 of the most commonly used LEGO elements!
11 Experiments That Failed by
"This is a most joyful and clever whimsy, the kind that lightens the heart and puts a shine on the day," raved Kirkus Reviews in a starred review. Is it possible to eat snowballs doused in ketchup--and nothing else--all winter? Can a washing machine wash dishes? By reading the step-by-step instructions, kids can discover the answers to such all-important questions along with the book's curious narrator. Here are 12 "hypotheses," as well as lists of "what you need," "what to do," and "what happened" that are sure to make young readers laugh out loud as they learn how to conduct science experiments (really!). Jenny Offill and Nancy Carpenter--the ingenious pair that brought you 17 Things I'm Not Allowed to Do Anymore--have outdone themselves in this brilliant and outrageously funny book.
The New Way Things Work by
The information age is upon us, baffling us with thousands of complicated state-of-the-art technologies. To help make sense of the computer age, David Macaulay brings us The New Way Things Work. This completely updated and expanded edition describes twelve new machines and includes more than seventy new pages detailing the latest innovations. With an entirely new section that guides us through the complicated world of digital machinery, where masses of electronic information can be squeezed onto a single tiny microchip, this revised edition embraces all of the newest developments, from cars to watches. Each scientific principle is brilliantly explained--with the help of a charming, if rather slow-witted, woolly mammoth.
Ancient Machines by
Ancient cultures left a rich legacy of mechanical knowledge and technology. This book examines the six basic machine, the lever, wheel and axle, inclined plane, the pulley, the wedge and the screw which all form the basis of machinery today.
Enter the Tessellation Station to create designs using unusually shaped tiling patterns. Exhibit from National Museum of Mathematics.
Uniform tiling pattern. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Brittannica, 25 May 2016.
Cool Tessellations by
Discover secret math and science tricks to creating art! This title introduces young readers to the sciences, with a creative twist. Math and science educational pages are interspersed with cool tessellation activities that offer practical applications of the information students learn in class. All activities include how-to photos, easy instructions, and clear explanations. Reinforce Common Core Standards in reading, math, and science, while making cool art projects, from translational symmetry to Archimedean solids. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Introduction to Tessallations by Perfect the ancient art of folding paper or create modular paper structure from cut paper.
Origami decorations. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Classic Origami by
Through a sequence of folds, without cutting or gluing, make more than two dozen figures based on ten basic forms, including a squirrel, crane, peacock, elephant, snail, camel, crocodile, and spider. Sequential illustrations will walk you through each fold.
Easy Origami by
Make wiggling snakes, a jumping frog and many more fantastic creatures through the art of paper folding. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions and clear diagrams introduce readers to the magic of origami in this classic guide used by Japanese school children. Illustrations and diagrams.
Origami Paper Animals by
Origami is an ancient art, yet modern paper folders can still invent fascinating new folds. Origami Paper Animals is filled with new and outstanding folds that will delight, amuse, and inspire paper folders of all ages. They offer a wide variety of designs that are rated according to skill level. Everyone, from beginners to experienced folders, will find something here to delight the hand and eye. The book opens with four pages of instructions in basic folding techniques, the symbols used in the book and a discussion of the various papers you work with. Then come the specific folds - Origami Paper Animals offers 28 different designs of wild animals and pets, including fish, owl, elephant, heron, penguin, panther, dog, giraffe, grasshopper, turtle, and monkey. Extremely detailed technical drawings, in color, accompany the reader every step of the way from the very first crease through to the remarkable finished creation. With their elegant and fascinating folds, these are among the most innovative origami books available. They are suited for folders of all ages and skill levels. Thoroughly tested and carefully designed instructions make it possible for anyone to achieve results on the first try.
Exquisite Modular Origami by
A step by step how-to book for making modular origami models based on polyhedra. If you love origami, polyhedra, symmetry, geometry, and mathematics, this book is for you. Author Meenakshi Mukerji is the winner of Origami USA's 2005 Florence Temko Award. Visit the author's origami website at http: //www.origamee.net.
Origami Toys by
Step-by-step instructions for making more than thirty interactive origami toys that flap, jump, fly, spin, bang, tumble, turn inside out, peck, snap, rock, and talk. Each design presents an exciting combination of interesting design and innocent delight.
Easy Origami by
24 simple, easy-to-follow projects for beginners to the art of origami. The ancient art of origami continues to fascinate young and old alike. More than a method of artistic expression, it provides an opportunity for reflection and relaxation. Easy Origami takes beginners step-by-step through the process of creating 24 simple yet interesting projects. Children, teens and adults will construct a hamster, a butterfly, an airplane, a house, a garland, a star cluster and more. The book begins with general tips on getting started and obtaining the best results. Easy-to-follow directions are included for all the basic folds. The projects are then organized by level of capability. Easy Origami is the perfect introduction to this popular craft. Beginners of all ages will have fun folding and unfolding as they discover a magical world of paper creations.
Monster Origami by
Count Dracula, Frankenstein's Monster, Wolfman: a monstrously fun collection of spine-tingling creepy creatures! Created by origami master Duy Nguyen, author of nearly 20 books on the subject, they're sure to please young fans of horror movies, novels, and comics. Nguyen carefully explains and illustrates every fold, from the valley to the mountain; offers advice on which paper to use and how to get the best results; and provides suggestions for adding personal creative touches, such as color and detail. The menagerie of menacing monsters includes a demon, alien, werewolf, vampire bat, the ever-popular Godzilla, and King Ghidora - a really cool three-headed, long-necked flying lizard!
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by
In this funny, uncannily wise portrait of the dynamics of a sixth-grade class and of the greatness that sometimes comes in unlikely packages, Dwight, a loser, talks to his classmates via an origami finger puppet of Yoda. If that weren’t strange enough, the puppet is uncannily wise and prescient. Origami Yoda predicts the date of a pop quiz, guesses who stole the classroom Shakespeare bust, and saves a classmate from popularity-crushing embarrassment with some well-timed advice. Dwight’s classmate Tommy wonders how Yoda can be so smart when Dwight himself is so clueless. With contributions from his puzzled classmates, he assembles the case file that forms this novel. F&P Level: T F&P Genre: RF
Robotic enthusiasts introduce you to Ozobot, the robot. Learn how to give commands using the color code language of the Ozobots. Curious? Come let us know you how it is done.
Ozobot. Photograph. Mauricio Pesce, Flikr. Retrived from https://www.flickr.com/photos/pestoverde/16243331133.
Could a Robot Make My Dinner? by
Could a robot make my dinner? Why do we need rockets to go into space? Why don't cranes fall over? This book takes a fun look at technology by asking and answering a series of quirky yet thought-provoking questions such as these! Although primarily a recreational read, the book nevertheless contains a wealth of fascinating information and bizarre facts about technology that readers will be sure to find captivating.
Making Things Move by
Get Your Move On! In Making Things Move: DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists, you'll learn how to successfully build moving mechanisms through non-technical explanations, examples, and do-it-yourself projects--from kinetic art installations to creative toys to energy-harvesting devices. Photographs, illustrations, screen shots, and images of 3D models are included for each project. This unique resource emphasizes using off-the-shelf components, readily available materials, and accessible fabrication techniques. Simple projects give you hands-on practice applying the skills covered in each chapter, and more complex projects at the end of the book incorporate topics from multiple chapters. Turn your imaginative ideas into reality with help from this practical, inventive guide. Discover how to: Find and select materials Fasten and join parts Measure force, friction, and torque Understand mechanical and electrical power, work, and energy Create and control motion Work with bearings, couplers, gears, screws, and springs Combine simple machines for work and fun Projects include: Rube Goldberg breakfast machine Mousetrap powered car DIY motor with magnet wire Motor direction and speed control Designing and fabricating spur gears Animated creations in paper An interactive rotating platform Small vertical axis wind turbine SADbot: the seasonally affected drawing robot Make Great Stuff! TAB, an imprint of McGraw-Hill Professional, is a leading publisher of DIY technology books for makers, hackers, and electronics hobbyists.
DK Eyewitness Books - Robot by
Take a detailed look at the fascinating world of robots - from the earliest single-task machines to the advanced intelligence of robots with feelings. Young readers will be amazed to learn all that robots can do: perform delicate surgical operations, clean city sewers, work as museum tour guides, or even battle each other in combat. Find out how humans have created these mechanical minds and bodies.
Making Simple Robots by
Making Simple Robots is based on one idea: Anybody can build a robot! That includes kids, school teachers, parents, and non-engineers. If you can knit, sew, or fold a flat piece of paper into a box, you can build a no-tech robotic part. If you can use a hot glue gun, you can learn to solder basic electronics into a low-tech robot that reacts to its environment. And if you can figure out how to use the apps on your smart phone, you can learn enough programming to communicate with a simple robot. Written in language that non-engineers can understand, Making Simple Robots helps beginners move beyond basic craft skills and materials to the latest products and tools being used by artists and inventors. Find out how to animate folded paper origami, design a versatile robot wheel-leg for 3D printing, or program a rag doll to blink its cyborg eye. Each project includes step-by-step directions as well as clear diagrams and photographs. And every chapter offers suggestions for modifying and expanding the projects, so that you can return to the projects again and again as your skill set grows.
The PancakeBot is the world's first food printer capable of printing pancakes by automatically dispensing batter directly onto a griddle. Kids can choose their own pancake designs (animals, places, characters)!
Pancake. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Pancakes, Pancakes! by
The barnyard rooster crows to tell Jack it's time to get up. It's very early in the morning -- and Jack is so hungry that what he really wants is a large pancake for breakfast. But first, Jack's mother needs flour from the mill, an egg from the black he, milk from the spotted cow, and butter churned from fresh cream. Will it ever be time for breakfast and that large pancake? Pancakes, Pancakes! is a delightful story of an old-fashioned breakfast. Modern-day pancake mix holds little charm compared to starting from scratch, and young readers will find their mouths watering, and will wish that they, too, could have real pancakes, pancakes!
Culinary Reactions by
Exploring the scientific principles behind everyday recipes, this informative blend of lab book and cookbook reveals that cooks are actually chemists. Following or modifying recipes is shown to be an experiment with acids and bases, emulsions and suspensions, gels and foams. This easy-to-follow primer includes recipes that demonstrate the scientific concepts, such as Whipped Creamsicle Topping (a foam), Cherry Dream Cheese (a protein gel), and Lemonade with Chameleon Eggs (an acid indicator). Also included in this fun, fact-filled companion are answers to various culinary curiosities, such as How does altering the ratio of flour, sugar, yeast, salt, butter, and water affect how high bread rises? and Why is whipped cream made with nitrous oxide rather than the more common carbon dioxide?
Let your engineering skills take off with this long-time favorite. Beginners can practice uilbding and flying basic planes, while more advanced flyers can take on challenges such as "Hit the Spot" or "Spin the Plane."
Boy playing with a paper plane. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Origami Paper Airplanes by
Origami is an ancient art, yet modern paper folders can still invent fascinating new folds. Origami Paper Airplanes is filled with new and outstanding folds that will delight, amuse, and inspire paper folders of all ages. They offer a wide variety of designs that are rated according to skill level. Everyone, from beginners to experienced folders, will find something here to delight the hand and eye. Each book opens with four pages of instructions in basic folding techniques, the symbols used in the book and a discussion of the various papers you work with. Then come the specific folds - Origami Paper Airplanes offers 28 different designs of aircraft that include traditional planes, new creations, and other flying objects such as windmills and frisbees. Extremely detailed technical drawings, in color, accompany the reader every step of the way from the very first crease through to the remarkable finished creation. With their elegant and fascinating folds, these are among the most innovative origami books available. They are suited for folders of all ages and skill levels. Thoroughly tested and carefully designed instructions make it possible for anyone to achieve results on the first try.
The Ultimate Guide to Paper Airplanes by
Step-by-step instructions and easy-to-follow photos of every crease, tuck and fold make these paper airplane books like no other. The clever organization starts with straightforward designs for beginning paper pilots as they enter flight school and progresses through the ranks to the advanced creations of a paper airplane captain!
Best Ever Paper Airplanes by
It's a bird--no, it's a paper plane and one of the greatest ever to fly! These 18 models, named for birds, are simply breathtaking. From "Eagle" to "Swallow," they come with easy-to-follow folding tips and fantastic decorating suggestions to copy, and feature designs that really soar and swoop. The playful possibilities, arranged in order of complexity, include the slender, long-nosed Egret; the broad-winged Condor; and the highly maneuverable Mockingbird. Color illustrations display the final versions, and there's detailed advice on construction, trim, and launching.
Did you ever wonder how the forces of motion and gravity connect to art? Come check out Pendulum Art. Multiple pendulums filled with a variety of paint colors are set up for your play. Change the length of the string, the speed of the pendulum, and/or the direction of the pendulum to see the impact on your art. Add in some stenciled animals and watercolors to create your final masterpiece.
Simple Pendulum. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Learn different ways to create pickles and watch osmosis in action.
Pickles. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Oxygen by
Every single thing and person consists of elements, and this informative series will help young readers understand just how important the elements are and what role they play in the science of chemistry. Enhanced by easy-to-follow diagrams and full color illustrations, the text explains how the elements behave, their individual characteristics, and their importance in everyday life.
Science Experiments Book by
Science has never been so easy--or so much fun! With The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book, all you need to do is gather a few household items and you can recreate dozens of mind-blowing, kid-tested science experiments. High school science teacher Tom Robinson shows you how to expand your scientific horizons--from biology to chemistry to physics to outer space. You'll discover answers to questions like: Is it possible to blow up a balloon without actually blowing into it? What is inside coins? Can a magnet ever be "turned off"? Do toilets always flush in the same direction? Can a swimming pool be cleaned with just the breath of one person? You won't want to wait for a rainy day or your school's science fair to test these cool experiments for yourself!
11 Experiments That Failed by
"This is a most joyful and clever whimsy, the kind that lightens the heart and puts a shine on the day," raved Kirkus Reviews in a starred review. Is it possible to eat snowballs doused in ketchup--and nothing else--all winter? Can a washing machine wash dishes? By reading the step-by-step instructions, kids can discover the answers to such all-important questions along with the book's curious narrator. Here are 12 "hypotheses," as well as lists of "what you need," "what to do," and "what happened" that are sure to make young readers laugh out loud as they learn how to conduct science experiments (really!). Jenny Offill and Nancy Carpenter--the ingenious pair that brought you 17 Things I'm Not Allowed to Do Anymore--have outdone themselves in this brilliant and outrageously funny book.
From Seurat to Sega, images comprised of dots of color have wowed the art and gaming worlds. Come create your own pixel art using perler beads. Follow a pattern or design your own!
Plastic Beads 2. Photography. Wikimedia Commons. Web. 10 February 2017.
Care to stop by and try your hand at a logic puzzle? Eighth grade puzzle connoisseurs will help you solve them.
Sideways Arithmetic from Wayside School by
From the Newbery-award winning author of Holes "Everyone take out your spelling books," said Mrs. Jewls. "It's time for arithmetic." Sue is so excited for her first day at Wayside School. But things at Wayside are far from normal-and Sue's teacher, Mrs. Jewls, is completely wacky. She expects the students to add and subtract words! Sue has never heard of anything so ridiculous. She knows adding apples plus oranges is impossible...or is it? Anything can happen at Wayside School.
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library by
A New York Times Bestseller Kyle Keeley is the class clown, popular with most kids, (if not the teachers), and an ardent fan of all games: board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the building of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot to be one of the first 12 kids in the library for an overnight of fun, food, and lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors remain locked. Kyle and the other winners must solve every clue and every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route. And the stakes are very high. In this cross between Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and A Night in the Museum, Agatha Award winner Chris Grabenstein uses rib-tickling humor to create the perfect tale for his quirky characters. Old fans and new readers will become enthralled with the crafty twists and turns of this ultimate library experience. "Pick up Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library for your kids to discover the coolest library in the world." --James Patterson, #1 New York Times bestselling author
How High Can a Dinosaur Count? by
Believe it or not, once Bessie balanced a tower of 8 beets. But today, when she tries to balance 8 beets . . . 3 fall. How many beets does Bessie balance today? A clever text and imaginative art mesh to create playful, simple math problems right on target for ages 5-99 . . . anyone who loves the magic of numbers! In this School Library Journal Best Book of the Year, budding young mathematicians can help Heloise add her dimes, nickels, and pennies to see which hat in Madame Millie's Hat Shop she can buy. Or they can tell time with Lulu at the Tutti-Frutti Zoo, where Lollipop Licking begins at 9:00 sharp.
How Mathematicians Think by
To many outsiders, mathematicians appear to think like computers, grimly grinding away with a strict formal logic and moving methodically from one black-and-white deduction to another. This text reveals that mathematics is a profoundly creative activity and not just a body of formalised rules and results.
In Code by
In January 1999, Sarah Flannery, a sports-loving teenager from Blarney in County Cork, Ireland was awarded Ireland's Young Scientist of the Year for her extraordinary research and discoveries in Internet cryptography. The following day, her story began appearing in Irish papers and soon after was splashed across the front page of the London Times, complete with a photo of Sarah and a caption calling her "brilliant." Just 16, she was a mathematician with an international reputation. In Code is a heartwarming story that will have readers cheering Sarah on. Originally published in England and co-written with her mathematician father, David Flannery, In Code is "a wonderfully moving story . . . about the thrill of the mathematical chase" (Nature) and "a paean to intellectual adventure" (Times Educational Supplement). A memoir in mathematics, it is all about how a girl next door, nurtured by her family, moved from the simple math puzzles that were the staple of dinnertime conversation to prime numbers, the Sieve of Eratosthenes, Fermat's Little Theorem, Googols-- and finally into her breathtaking algorithm. Parallel with each step is a modest girl's own self-discovery--her values, her burning curiosity, the joy of persistence, and, above all, her love for her family.
Aha! Gotcha by
A book of puzzles from Scientific American that involve mathematics and logic.
Make your own smoothies using only your foot power. Hop on a bike and pedal to convert energy into delicious smoothies!
Image retrieved from https://www.berkeleycarroll.org/academics/steam-at-berkeley-carroll/bc-steam-fair.
Construct your own PVC marshmallow launcher!
Polyvinyl Chloride Pip Fittings PVS. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Cool Structures by
Discover secret math and science tricks to creating art! This title introduces young readers to the sciences, with a creative twist. Math and science educational pages are interspersed with cool structure activities that offer practical applications of the information students learn in class. All activities include how-to photos, easy instructions, and clear explanations. Reinforce Common Core Standards in reading, math, and science, while making cool art projects, from a wooden bridge to a spaghetti tower. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Ready for a rapid design challenge? Using the BC Design Process- think, plan, do, review- you will design removable wings that hold a marker for small robotic bees. Test your design by programming the bee to do a one line drawing. Come back later to help color in the shapes created as the day goes on. We will create a large mural with all the on line drawings to display in the LS lobby.
Flying insect explorer robot. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Making Things Move by
Get Your Move On! In Making Things Move: DIY Mechanisms for Inventors, Hobbyists, and Artists, you'll learn how to successfully build moving mechanisms through non-technical explanations, examples, and do-it-yourself projects--from kinetic art installations to creative toys to energy-harvesting devices. Photographs, illustrations, screen shots, and images of 3D models are included for each project. This unique resource emphasizes using off-the-shelf components, readily available materials, and accessible fabrication techniques. Simple projects give you hands-on practice applying the skills covered in each chapter, and more complex projects at the end of the book incorporate topics from multiple chapters. Turn your imaginative ideas into reality with help from this practical, inventive guide. Discover how to: Find and select materials Fasten and join parts Measure force, friction, and torque Understand mechanical and electrical power, work, and energy Create and control motion Work with bearings, couplers, gears, screws, and springs Combine simple machines for work and fun Projects include: Rube Goldberg breakfast machine Mousetrap powered car DIY motor with magnet wire Motor direction and speed control Designing and fabricating spur gears Animated creations in paper An interactive rotating platform Small vertical axis wind turbine SADbot: the seasonally affected drawing robot Make Great Stuff! TAB, an imprint of McGraw-Hill Professional, is a leading publisher of DIY technology books for makers, hackers, and electronics hobbyists.
Making Simple Robots by
Making Simple Robots is based on one idea: Anybody can build a robot! That includes kids, school teachers, parents, and non-engineers. If you can knit, sew, or fold a flat piece of paper into a box, you can build a no-tech robotic part. If you can use a hot glue gun, you can learn to solder basic electronics into a low-tech robot that reacts to its environment. And if you can figure out how to use the apps on your smart phone, you can learn enough programming to communicate with a simple robot. Written in language that non-engineers can understand, Making Simple Robots helps beginners move beyond basic craft skills and materials to the latest products and tools being used by artists and inventors. Find out how to animate folded paper origami, design a versatile robot wheel-leg for 3D printing, or program a rag doll to blink its cyborg eye. Each project includes step-by-step directions as well as clear diagrams and photographs. And every chapter offers suggestions for modifying and expanding the projects, so that you can return to the projects again and again as your skill set grows.
Come to our new Beta Lab to learn how our Robotics team is preparing for their next competition.
Image retrieved from https://www.berkeleycarroll.org/academics/steam-at-berkeley-carroll/beta-lab.
DK Eyewitness Books - Robot by
Take a detailed look at the fascinating world of robots - from the earliest single-task machines to the advanced intelligence of robots with feelings. Young readers will be amazed to learn all that robots can do: perform delicate surgical operations, clean city sewers, work as museum tour guides, or even battle each other in combat. Find out how humans have created these mechanical minds and bodies.
Could a Robot Make My Dinner? by
Could a robot make my dinner? Why do we need rockets to go into space? Why don't cranes fall over? This book takes a fun look at technology by asking and answering a series of quirky yet thought-provoking questions such as these! Although primarily a recreational read, the book nevertheless contains a wealth of fascinating information and bizarre facts about technology that readers will be sure to find captivating.
Making Simple Robots by
Making Simple Robots is based on one idea: Anybody can build a robot! That includes kids, school teachers, parents, and non-engineers. If you can knit, sew, or fold a flat piece of paper into a box, you can build a no-tech robotic part. If you can use a hot glue gun, you can learn to solder basic electronics into a low-tech robot that reacts to its environment. And if you can figure out how to use the apps on your smart phone, you can learn enough programming to communicate with a simple robot. Written in language that non-engineers can understand, Making Simple Robots helps beginners move beyond basic craft skills and materials to the latest products and tools being used by artists and inventors. Find out how to animate folded paper origami, design a versatile robot wheel-leg for 3D printing, or program a rag doll to blink its cyborg eye. Each project includes step-by-step directions as well as clear diagrams and photographs. And every chapter offers suggestions for modifying and expanding the projects, so that you can return to the projects again and again as your skill set grows.
Visit our Beta Lab to learn from engineering students as they build and explain the concepts and basics of simple machines and energy transfers.
SPRING IN USE, assorted springs. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Bridges and Tunnels by
Bridges and tunnels are lifelines. People have tackled seemingly insurmountable obstacles, including vast canyons and mountain ranges, to design and construct these amazing passageways.Bridges and Tunnels: Investigate Feats of Engineering invites children ages 9 and up to explore the innovation and physical science behind structures our world depends on. Trivia and fun facts illustrate engineering ingenuity and achievements. Activities and projects encourage children to learn about the engineering process and to embrace trial and error.
Explore Simple Machines! by
From zippers to the Pyramids, rolling pins to catapults, we are surrounded by simple machines. This book will amaze kids with the ingenuity they already possess and inspire them to look differently at the objects they use everyday. Explore Simple Machines! With 25 Great Projects introduces kids to the concept of "mechanical advantage," and harnesses kid-power by inviting them to build machines of their own design. It opens their eyes to the diversity of machines in their lives, and sparks the imagination with challenge, humor, and achievable projects. Explore Simple Machines! dedicates a chapter to each of the six simple machines that were identified centuries ago: levers, inclined planes, pulleys, screws, wedges, and wheels & axles. Kids will develop analytical skills as they figure out where force is applied and what kind of work it generates.
Ancient Machines by
Ancient cultures left a rich legacy of mechanical knowledge and technology. This book tells the story of their contributions and examines the six basic machine, the lever, wheel and axle, inclined plane, the pulley, the wedge and the screw which all form the basis of machinery today.
Using different types of paper, design and create sculptures and add alight to create an illuminating effect.
Paper. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Cool Paper Folding by
Discover secret math and science tricks to creating art! This title introduces young readers to the sciences, with a creative twist. Math and science educational pages are interspersed with cool paper folding activities that offer practical applications of the information students learn in class. All activities include how-to photos, easy instructions, and clear explanations. Reinforce Common Core Standards in reading, math, and science, while making cool art projects, from making a ninja star to folding a complex shape. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Magic Books and Paper Toys by
Everyone loves a good book, but what's better than one you've made by hand? And not just any straightforward book, but simple pop-up books, flip books, magic pamphlets, pop-up maps, and accordions! Esther K. Smith, author of How to Make Books, unlocks the secrets of making tricky book forms even if you've never worked with paper before. While some of these 25 projects can be made by kids with a little help from mom or dad, all are designed with the adult in mind--the adult who's a kid at heart! With step-by-step directions and charming illustrations, a few carefully placed cuts and an array of folds and twists almost magically become a colorful, multidimensional book.
Participate in the creation of your own custom sneakers- research and development, visual design, and prototyping.
A pair of red sneakers. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Sneakers by
Starts with measuring and cutting patterns from huge shets of material, follows die-cutting, sewing, assembling, and finishing models. Also covers new product development and computer programming for sewing and manufacturing functions.
Sneaker Century by
Whether you call them kicks or sneakers, runners or gutties, you probably have a pair of athletic shoes in your closet. The earliest sneakers debuted in the 1800s and weren't much more than a canvas upper and a flexible sole made of a crazy new material--rubber. The stuff might have been new to Americans then, but for thousands of years, the indigenous peoples of the Amazon Basin of South America had been using latex made from the milky sap of hevea trees to protect their feet from rocks, sticks, and biting insects. Once Charles Goodyear figured out how to make the stuff more durable, sneakers were here to stay. Early sneakers were initially designed for elite athletes, but kids and teens quickly adopted them. Some of the first brands included Converse, Brooks, and Saucony. German companies Adidas and Puma started up during World War II. The Nike shoe debuted in the 1970s (with a bit of inspiration from a waffle iron). As fitness crazes took off in the 1980s, people all over the world started buying the shoes for workouts and everyday wear. At about the same time, companies began hiring high-profile athletes and pop stars for big-dollar endorsements, and shoe sales soared into the stratosphere to the tune of billions of dollars each year. In Sneaker Century, follow sneaker fashions and the larger-than-life personalities behind the best known athletic shoe brands in history. Learn how teen sneakerheads became important style makers and drove the success of NIKE, Inc., and other shoe companies. Look behind the scenes at the labor-intensive process of manufacturing sneakers. Explore the sneaker frontier of the future--recycled shoes, earth-friendly initiatives, and high-fashion statements. Get ready to speed through the Sneaker Century!
What can you do to make paper more wonderful? Come find out. We'll be marbling, dipping, and spinning color onto paper of various weights and sizes. This is science, creating art. Perhaps you will leave with some wrapping paper, a few pieces of stationary, or a unique piece of art of display on your wall.
Newton's Color Disk Moderate Spin, Colors Blurred & Mostly Visible. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
Come use your creative size to make a tabletop garden out of plants, colored moss and bright stones.
Green plants and butterfly in glass terrarium. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
My Garden by
The girl in this book grows chocolate rabbits, tomatoes as big as beach balls, flowers that change color, and seashells in her garden. How does your garden grow?
The Plant-and-Grow Project Book by 
The Kid's Guide to Exploring Nature by
This guide teaches children how to observe environments as a naturalist does and leads them on 24 adventures that reveal the complex ecosystems of plants and animals in the woods, at the beach, and in a city park. Detailed, scientifically based drawings help young scientists identify hundreds of North American plants and animals, while dozens of fun projects include keeping a journal, conducting field experiments, and exploring nature with all five senses.
The Plant Hunters by
Driven by an all-consuming passion, the plant hunters traveled around the world, facing challenges at every turn: tropical illnesses, extreme terrain, and dangerous animals. They battled piranhas, tigers, and vampire bats. Even the plants themselves could be lethal! But these intrepid eighteenth- and nineteenth-century explorers were determined to find and collect new and unusual specimens, no matter what the cost.
Challenge a partner to play a variation on the age-old game of strategy.
Nim QC. Photography. Wikimedia Commons, Wikipedia. 9 February 2009. CC BY-SA 3.0.
Go Figure! by
Numbers create the structure to our universe. Without numbers, computers would not work and cars would not go. There would be no way to quantify things. You wouldn't be able to ask "How many?" or "How much?" We would not understand time or distance. Sports records wouldn't matter! Go Figure! is a math book filled with the weird and wonderful side of math and numbers. Discover why there are 60 minutes in an hour, why daisies have to have 34, 55, or 89 petals, and why finding a prime number could make you a millionaire. Go Figure! is also packed with activities that children can try out on their own or with friends, including brainteasers, magic tricks, and things to make, while also learning about the simple puzzles that stumped the world's brainiest mathematicians for centuries. Go Figure! is a fun and quirky look at the magical world of numbers, without the effort of a math textbook.
Math and Logic Games by The Book of Games by
Have fun exploring musical pitches by filling beakers with water to create a chromatic scale. In the process, play some of your favorite melodies with the flick of a mallet.
Milk bottle xylophone consisting of seven bottles of varying amounts of coloured water and a metal spoon. Photography. Encyclopedia Brittanica Image Quest. Web. 10 February 2017.
Build and fly parachutes in a wind tunnel.
Parachute test for Orion spacecraft, 2014. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopedia Britannica, 31 Aug 2017.
Energy Island by
Hold onto your hats! It's windy on the Danish island of Samso. Meet the environmentally friendly people who now proudly call their home Energy Island. At a time when most countries are producing ever-increasing amounts of CO2, the rather ordinary citizens of Sams#65533; have accomplished something extraordinary--in just ten years they have reduced their carbon emissions by 140% and become almost completely energy independent. A narrative tale and a science book in one, this inspiring true story proves that with a little hard work and a big idea, anyone can make a huge step towards energy conservation.
Wind by
Fly a kite. Watch leaves swirl. It's time to learn about wind.
Wind and Water by
There are enormous reserves of energy in the winds and the tides and in the temperature difference between the upper and lower regions of the oceans. This title describes conventional hydropower, or wind power, and some of the newer technologies (with less certain futures), and discusses the strengths and limitations of each technology.