OR access and search each individual book pictured below.
Ancient Egypt by
"Explores the society, politics and beliefs of Ancient Egypt and the surrounding Nile Valley region, along with the cultural achievements of this ancient civilization."--Provided by publisher
Ancient Egypt by
Discover the history and impressive accomplishments of the people of ancient Egypt, Learn about this civilization's history, development, daily life, culture, art, technology, warfare, social organization, and more. Well-chosen maps and images of artifacts bring the past to life.
TOPICS: Games, Mummification
Ancient Egypt by
"Explores the field of Egyptology and archaeological digs. Covers topics such as pyramids, pharaohs, and mummies in Ancient Egypt." --Provided by publisher
Ancient Egypt by
Ancient Egypt is one of the most widely studied historical civilizations. Readers are introduced to important facts about ancient Egypt and the ways ancient Egyptians influenced the world for thousands of years. Readers explore this complex culture through accessible text, annotated quotations from historians, vibrant photographs and historical images, and enlightening sidebars. Readers may know about Egypt's pyramids and pharaohs from their history classes, but they will enjoy learning lesser-known stories of this amazing part of the ancient world.
Ancient Egypt: Facts and Fictions by
Comprising a unique collection of primary sources, this book critically examines several topics relating to ancient Egypt that are of high interest to readers but about which misconceptions abound. With its pyramids, mummies, and sphinxes, ancient Egypt has fascinated us for centuries. It has been the setting of many films and novels, figuring prominently in popular culture. Much of what the average reader believes about this civilization, however, is mistaken. Through a unique collection of primary source documents, this book critically examines several topics related to ancient Egypt and about which misconceptions abound. Primary sources, many in new translations by the author, are drawn from ancient Egyptian, classical Greek and Roman, Muslim, early Christian, and modern European documents. These sources shed light on popular misconceptions. Such topics include the divinity of the pharaoh, the role of animals in ancient Egyptian religion, the purpose of the Egyptian pyramids, the use of slave labor, the Egyptian hieroglyphic writing system, the role of Cleopatra in the defeat of Marc Antony and the fall of the Roman Republic, and the influence of Egyptian religion on the development of early Christianity. By studying these documents, users will be able to develop their skills interpreting and evaluating primary sources. * Provides an accurate view of the role of slavery in ancient Egyptian society * Discusses the ancient Egyptian conception of divinity and how it applied to the pharaoh and the use of animals in Egyptian worship and religious iconography * Critically examines the controversial proposition that Jesus never existed but was a myth created from ancient Egyptian stories about Osiris and Horus * Explains the purposes for which the pyramids were built, based on ancient Egyptian texts found within the pyramids themselves * Provides evidence for how misconceptions about ancient Egypt developed and spread, along with support for what we now believe to be the historical truths * Directs users to additional sources of information for further study
Artifacts from Ancient Egypt by
Primary source documents and detailed entries reveal what ancient Egypt was like, using the objects and artifacts of daily life from the period covering the Predynastic era through the Græco-Roman period (5000 BCE to 300 CE). Historians have found that valuable knowledge about long-ago civilizations can be derived from examining the simple routines of daily life. This fascinating study presents a collection of everyday objects and artifacts from ancient Egypt, shedding light on the social life and culture of ancient Egyptians. The work starts with a popular notion of ancient Egyptian beauty and gradually moves on to address various aspects of life, including home, work, communication, and transition and afterlife. Organized by topics, the work contains the following sections: beauty, adornment, and clothing; household items, furniture, and games; food and drink; tools and weapons; literacy and writing; death and funerary equipment; and religion, ritual, and magic. Each object holds equal importance and dates from the Predynastic era to the Græco-Roman period of ancient Egypt (5000 BCE to 300 CE). A special section provides guidance on evaluating objects and artifacts by asking questions--Who created it? Who used it? What did it do/what was its purpose? When and where was it made? Why was it made?--to help assess the historical context of the object. Features anecdotal information about daily life that helps to engage readers and illuminate the historical context Contains a section denoting significance of an object to key contextual themes Provides a listing of additional resources with important print and electronic resources Includes a chronology of events to better place the object or artifact within a historical timeframe
Discovering Ancient Egypt by
The world of mummies, pharaohs, and pyramids leaps off the pages of this upper elementary guide to ancient Egyptian civilization. Readers will discover the history and culture of ancient Egypt, from the earliest settlers of the Nile to the final dynasty of Antony and Cleopatra. Egypt's most famous inventions, including papyrus, hieroglyphs, and the 365-day calendar, are presented along with facts about its pantheon of deities and highly organized class system. a final discussion of how modern culture continues to benefit from its techniques and styles is sure to make readers want to delve deeper into the world of ancient Egypt.
Egyptian Gods, Heroes, and Mythology by
Osiris, the god of the dead; the catlike goddess Bastet; and the imposing sphinx are well-known subjects of Egyptian mythology. Egyptian Gods, Heroes, and Mythology explores the gods, heroes, creatures, and stories of Egyptian mythology, in addition to examining their influence today. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Egyptian Gods and Goddesses by
This volume examines the characteristics and significance of many of the Egyptian gods and goddesses. It also looks at related topics such as ancient symbols and the influence of Egyptian mythology on other cultures and belief systems.
Egyptian Mythology by
From mummies to magic, Egyptian mythology is teeming with fascinating stories ancient people used to explain the world and its origins. Discover the tales that shaped Egyptian culture and traditions. This title supports multiple reading standards: reading closely for explicit meaning and inferences, while citing specific textual evidence to support conclusions drawn from the text.
The Greenhaven Encyclopedia Ancient Egypt by
Thousands of years ago, the ancient Egyptians established a civilization that continue to fascinate people today. This A-Z encyclopedia provides information about the most important people, places, and practices of ancient Egypt, as well as about ancient Egyptian historical periods, religious beliefs, art, architecture, and concepts related to the Egyptian worldview. In addition, the encyclopedia talks about the Egyptologists and archaeologists who helped advance modern knowledge about this ancient culture. Provides numerous entries covering the world of ancient Egypt.
Life along the Ancient Nile by
From mummies to mammoth pyramids, Egypt has exerted a continual fascination throughout its long history. Step back in time and see how the Egyptians lived thousands of years ago. The bounty of the Nile River gave them one of highest standards of living in the ancient world.
Pyramid by
Looks at the secrets of the monumental structures of the ancient world, from the tombs of Egypt to the pyramids of Central America.
Technology in Ancient Egypt by
Perhaps the most well known innovation of the ancient Egyptians is mummification--but they knew far more about the human body than just how to preserve it. There's evidence that the ancient Egyptians knew how to set broken bones and that they knew a person's pulse and heart were linked. Readers will learn about ancient Egypt's earliest technology, from that used in medicine, to arts like pottery, glassmaking, and weaving. Through historical content and each section's accompanying sidebar, readers also will have a strong introduction to a common social studies curriculum topic: the culture of the ancient Egyptians. Up-close photographs of artifacts as well as artistic renderings of Egyptian shipbuilding, architecture, and other activities will engage readers in the ancient world of Egypt while a detailed timeline highlights important events.
The Totally Gross History of Ancient Egypt by
Mummies, dead bodies elaborately wrapped up, might rank pretty high on the scale of all things disgusting. But readers should be ready for an eye-opening read on some of ancient Egypt's gross history, such as the dirty details of what really happens to bodies as they're prepared for mummification, in this book. This gleefully gut-churning volume offers up some very vile medicinal practices, culinary delicacies, political and battle practices, and more. Readers will come away from this memorable read with a fresh perspective on the lives and customs of this famous (and now famously gross) ancient civilization.
Find passwords to access databases outside of school
SEARCH TIP: Search "Ancient Egypt" and find resources on the pyramids, Cleopatra, and the Egyptian Pharaohs.
