Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress' Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature
The Library of Congress' poetry and literature archive contains nearly two thousand audio recordings of poets and prose writers including Elizabeth Bishop, Gwendolyn Brooks and Robert Frost, Mario Vargas Llosa, Czeslaw Milosz, Ray Bradbury, Margaret Atwood, and Kurt Vonnegut.
Selected Works from Public Domain Poems
Explore the works of many of our favorites poets, from Oscar Wilde to Robert Frost. All of the poems are in the public domain and are open and accessible for classrooms.
Walt Whitman Archive
Includes e-text and facsimile versions of all editions of Leaves of Grass; contemporary reviews and correspondence; and extended biography and bibliography with links.
Dickinson Electronic Archives
Collection of digital facsimiles of Dickinson’s poetry and correspondence, emphasizing her process of composition; includes links to secondary sources.
Emily Dickson Archive
An open-access website for the manuscripts of Emily Dickinson.
New York City: The East Village Poetry Walk
Passing Stranger—The East Village Poetry Walk—is a sound-rich chronicle of poets and poetry associated with New York City’s East Village neighborhood. Narrated by filmmaker Jim Jarmusch, it contains site-specific poetry, interviews with poets, archival recordings and music by John Zorn. It was produced by Pejk Malinowski with support from the Poetry Foundation and others.
Emily Dickinson Virtual Poetry Walk: May 16, 2020
Check back at this link for information on how to attend a virtual poetry walk honoring the anniversary of Emily Dickinson's death. This event, held by the Emily Dickinson Museum, will start on the Homestead lawn and proceed through Amherst, stopping at sites significant in Dickinson’s life, and concluding at the poet’s grave in West Cemetery.
Audio and Video Resources
Looking for inspiration? Sometimes the hardest part of writing is knowing where to begin. Here you'll find some sources of inspiration and prompts to get you started.
An example from Ms. Manning's bookshelf: You are not a gadget. Bone, Stardust, milk and honey. The heart is an instrument; stroke by stroke, piecing me together, pushing the margins... You were born for this.
Ready to Go Writing Activities
More Teaching Resources
Poetry Foundation: Resources for Educators
Articles, teaching materials, and other resources for teachers of all levels.
"By Heart": Lesson Plan from New York Times Learning Network
In this lesson, students memorize a poem, then write it from memory and recite it for others — and for possible inclusion on a class podcast or video. They also reflect on the value of committing poems to memory.
Poetry and poems: Highlights from the WeTeachNYC collection
This Google hyperdoc is organized to highlight instructional tools to help students engage with the 5Es: Engage, Explore, Explain, Elaborate and Evaluate.
"Teach This Poem" from The Academy of American Poets
"Produced for K-12 educators, Teach This Poem features one poem a week from our online poetry collection, accompanied by interdisciplinary resources and activities designed to help teachers quickly and easily bring poetry into the classroom."
Poetry vs. Prose Lesson Plan: Read Write Think
This lesson begins with a quick-write and a general discussion of the essential question What is poetry? Students are then reminded that different texts require different responses from readers, and to illustrate the differences they explore a poem and a prose selection on the same topic.
Classroom-Friendly Poems (Button Poetry)
A YouTube playlist composed of classroom-friendly poems
Poetry and Short Story Reference Center
Poetry and Short Story Reference Center
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center contains a historically rich collection
of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques. It includes images, audio, video, and curriculum support materials including lesson plans crafted specifically for use with this database.