Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to start?
Reference sources are a good place to start your research. They include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and databases.
Reference sources contain basic facts and background information. They provide reliable, accurate information, and help to answer general questions about your topic such as:
? who, ? what, ? when & ? where
- THINK about what you know
- PLAN your search - start with broad topic keywords
- REVIEW & REDO - look out for additional search terms
To FInd Database Passwords
Go to the Database Password Page to find the usernames and passwords to access BCS encyclopedias, databases and eBooks outside of school.
Search for your topic in the encyclopedias listed below.
Search tip: Contains three levels. Start your learning at the Elementary level - read levels 1, 2 & 3.
Search tip: Searches three different encyclopedias: The New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia & Lands and People.
To begin, select an article on your topic to read from The New Book of Knowledge and compare with the other sources.
Search tip: Search World Book Student + Kids
BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
Search tip: Enter your topic into the search box or search by subject.
Find factual information on the Aztec civilization, the Indus Valley civilization and Shang China.