Gender and Slavery - HUM 5 - Ancient Egypt - LibGuides at Berkeley Carroll School

ACCESS KEY

Find passwords to access databases outside of school

You will need a password to be able to access the articles and books on your topic.

First - find the name of the database (in parenthesis & capital letters) at the end of the title

Then find that name on the database password page and use the username/password that follows it to sign in.

The link will take you directly to the resource.

Egyptian limestone statuette of the lady Ninofretmin

A statue of a family group. The dwarf Seneb sits with his wife. His two children stand at the feet of their parents sucking their fingers.

Ancient Egyptian Daily Life (CAPSTONE)
Information on Gender can be found in the chapters "Marriage in Ancient Egypt," "The Role of Women" & "Clothing & Grooming."
"Role of Women" (GALE eBook)
This encyclopedia entry focuses on the role of women in ancient Egyptian society in terms of family life, work, and religion.
"Gender Roles" (GALE eBook)
more...less...
Scroll down to "Gender Roles" to read information on gender roles in ancient Egypt - like how women were treated in ancient Egypt.
"Women of the Crown" (GALE eBook)
This article addresses the gender roles and life trajectories of powerful women in ancient Egypt.
"Women's Dress" (GALE eBook)
This article provides description of clothing and its significance in ancient Egyptian society. This is a great resource for further research on the finer points of dressing during this time.
"Egyptian Women Reference Articles" (ABC-CLIO)
This article describes the role of everyday women within the home and family, as well as the role of royal and wealthy women.

"Slaves" (GALE eBook)
Provides a brief description of Ancient Egyptian slavery— the rights and lack of rights that slaves in this time period held.
Agricultural Slavery (ABC-CLIO)
Contains background information on agricultural slavery in ancient Egypt as well as other ancient civilizations.
Ancient Egyptian Society Was Heavily Dependent on Slave Labor" (GALE eBook)
This chapter provides information on what people THINK happened with slavery in ancient Egypt, and then provides facts. This would be a good extra resource to consult.

"Home and Family Life" (GALE eBook)
Scroll down to "Family Structure," and "Marriage and Family" to read about family structure in ancient Egypt. "Beauty and Hygiene" and "Hair Care" will also have information on gender roles.

Image Courtesy of DK Ancient Egypt (2014)

Image Courtesy of DK Ancient Egypt (2014)

Image Courtesy of DK Ancient Egypt (2014)