Start Your Research Here - HUMANITIES 7 - The 28th Amendment Project

Database Passwords

To find the login and password information to access the databases outside of school, go to the Database Password Page.

Search for Library Books & Reliable Websites

DESTINY

Search Tip:

select Middle/Upper School Library > Catalog > enter topic key words > see results for books > select Web Sites tab to find web sites.

To access Follett Shelf eBooks - see librarian for your Destiny password.

Credo

CREDO This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.

General Encyclopedias

Find a general overview of your topic.

Search Tip: Search by topic keyword. Use general, broad terms.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window

Opposing Viewpoints - GALE database

GALE In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated information and opinions cover hot issues.

Facts On FIle Databases

Issues & Controversies in American History (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window
For details on specific amendments to the Constitution, see "Bill of Rights" & "Constitution of the United States".

American History Online (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

Gale Virtual Reference eBooks

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Search the entire reference library for your topic, browse by subject or search individual titles. The books featured below are in this collection and relevant to your research.

Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Provides the history and social context of the amendment process, covering each of the 27 amendments. Significant issues, events, figures, movements and judicial/legislative actions in the history of each amendment are also covered chronologically. UXL
3 Volumes
The Bill of Rights by Stephen Krensky.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Provides an analysis of the U.S. Bill of Rights, with information on how it was created and how it has evolved, with examples of major Supreme Court decisions related to it.