Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Use This Guide
Use the resources in this LibGuide to find reliable, accurate information about the African country you are researching.
Begin learning about the country you are researching by searching for its homepage in the Kids Edition of CultureGrams. Start by reading through the topic articles listed on the left side of the page.
Encyclopedias - Middle School
Search for your topic in one or more of the encyclopedias listed below. Use important keywords for the best results.
Go to the Database Passwords page to access online resources outside of school or ask your librarian for help.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
An integrated resource that not only provides articles by school level, but also links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites, primary resources, and e-books! Includes images, videos, and a dictionary.
Search tip: Start your search in the Elementary OR Middle level. Move to the High School level as needed.
Search tip: Start your search in World Book Student and then search World Book Advanced for more detailed information.
CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains reference articles on more than 200 countries, get a kid's-eye view of daily life around the world and find reports on all of the U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and territories.
CIA World Factbook
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Information in The Factbook is continuously updated, collected from - and coordinated with - a wide variety of US Government agencies, as well as from hundreds of published sources.
Political Map of Africa - CIA World Factbook