LibGuides: *8th Graders' Guide To The Library: Home

Useful Library Links

Destiny Discover Grades 5-8 - LIBRARY CATALOG This link opens in a new window
Search the MS Library or all BC Libraries for digital and print resources - books, ebooks, audiobooks, and more!

Search library databases

Find passwords to access databases outside of school

Oxford Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Access nine languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Arabic and Portuguese.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Historical dictionary of the English language.

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Sign in / Register with your BC Google Account

ProQuest

ProQuest Platform This link opens in a new window Search multiple databases on the ProQuest platform including: Academic Video Online, Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, ProQuest Central Student, ProQuest Professional Education, and Publicly Available Content Database. ProQuest Central Student is a multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.

Destiny Discover Homepage (LIBRARY CATALOG)

Destiny Discover Grades 5-8 - LIBRARY CATALOG This link opens in a new window
Search the MS Library or all BC Libraries for digital and print resources - books, ebooks, audiobooks, and more!

Sora Overdrive eBooks

Sign-in

Sora Digital Library This link opens in a new window Borrow and enjoy eBooks and audiobooks with Sora - OverDrive's new user-friendly student app for reading and listening.

SIGN-INFORMATION

Go to Library Database Passwords page & scroll down to Online & Print Library Collections section to find sign-in info for Sora Overdrive.

HOW TO FIND ASSIGNED BOOKS

Sign-in to your Sora account.

Assigned books are listed on Home tab under "Assignments."

You'll also see assignments on shelf tab > Loans along with the books you borrowed.

Notes and highlights - how to make, find & export them

https://help.soraapp.com/en-us/categories/notes-highlights.htm

Using Sora

https://help.soraapp.com/en-us/categories/using-sora.htm

Magazines in Sora

Go to the HVLA Magazine Collection to browse over 50 magazines. To access these magazines you have "+ Add Library" and then search and select "Hudson Valley Library Association". Use your BC Sora login to access the entire HVLA collection of Ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines which include Astronomy, Baseball America, The Economist, Popular Science, SLAM, and Wired.

The New York Times - Get full digital access both in & outside of school

The New York Times This link opens in a new window
All Berkeley Carroll students, faculty, and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, thanks to our school-wide library subscription. We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience.

Articles from 1851-1980 can be accessed through the archive search. Search historical issues & primary sources through the Times Machine which has over 150 years of NY Times journalism in its original newspaper format starting with Volume 1, Number 1 in 1851 through 2002! Go to The New York Times online guide for more in depth information.

In school, here's how to claim your pass for full digital access to The New York Times:

When you are on campus, visit nytimes.com/grouppass
Create an account using your BC email address
When you see "START YOUR ACCESS" and an expiration date (one year from the day you sign up), you are all set!
Set a calendar reminder to renew for next year so you have no lag in your subscription.
Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location!

HOW TO CREATE OR REACTIVATE YOUR NY TIMES ACCOUNT REMOTELY

Visit nytimes.com/passes. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address with the approved domain(s). If you already have a NYTimes.com account associated with such email address, log in with those credentials.

Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.

You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. Now you can enjoy access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.

HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.

To claim a new Pass after expiration: visit nytimes.com/passes and log in with your NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address.

EBSCOsFlipster - Digital Magazines

To read a magazine on your iPad:

Tap on a magazine cover & then tap 'Read This Issue' to open it in your browser.
Tap the menu and select 'Open in App' for offline reading.

(**Off campus you will need a password. Ask your librarians or visit the passwords page to find it!**)

AVAILABLE TITLES:

The Atlantic ~ Beanz (formerly Kids, Code & Computer Science) ~ Discover ~ Faces ~ MIT Technology Review ~ Muse ~ National Wildlife ~ National Geographic España ~ Natural History ~ The New York Review of Books ~ New Yorker ~ Newsweek Mexico ~ Rolling Stone ~ Science News ~ Scientific American ~ Scientific American Mind ~ Sports Illustrated ~ Sports Illustrated Kids ~ Time ~ Wacky But True ~ The Week Junior ~ The Week ~ Wired