Citizen Science - Satellite Research - 7th Grade Science Research

Useful Library Links

Destiny Discover Grades 5-8 - LIBRARY CATALOG This link opens in a new window
Search the MS Library or all BC Libraries for digital and print resources - books, ebooks, audiobooks, and more!

Find passwords to access databases outside of school

DATABASE TIPS

PERMALINKS

Finding the correct link to save for a database article that you need to return to can be tricky. To make it more complicated, it's different for each database. Copying the URL from the address bar does not always work.

Use these instructions to help you find the permalink for each database article you need to save and return to for your research and citations.

Citizen Science Topics

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Today's Science (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.

Science Online (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

How Are Plants and Animals Affected by Rapid Climate Change? from Climate Change: Examining the Facts, 2016 (ABC-CLIO).

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window See AUDIO & Magazine results for more specific information and clues for further research.

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window Search "climate change" and scroll down the results list to find the most relevant articles in the 5th, 6th, 7th books listed. Also, look further.

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

GALE In Context: Science This link opens in a new window Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science in Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.

Science Online (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

GALE In Context: Science This link opens in a new window Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science in Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Today's Science (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.

Science Online (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window Search "earthquakes and climate change".

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Water Resources from Engineering Response to Climate Change(2nd ed.), Taylor & Francis Group LLC, 2013.

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Search "sea level rise" to find the article: "Ocean Rising Research Project".

Also, scroll down to the Audio & Video results list.

Oceans And Climate Change - UXL Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters (Vol. 3. 2nd ed., GALWE, 2016.)

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes several informative, in-depth articles on sea-level rise rise and global warming science.

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window TIP: In the search results list scroll down to the fourth, fifth & sixth articles and beyond.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

FIND AN OVERVIEW: Search for your topic in the following databases:

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
See Topic Overview articles.

GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Databases for 7th Grade Science Research - Best Bets

GALE In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
GALE In Context: Science This link opens in a new window Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science in Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of full-text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Science Online (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

Today's Science (Facts On File) This link opens in a new window Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.

The New York Times - Get full digital access both in & outside of school

The New York Times This link opens in a new window
All Berkeley Carroll students, faculty, and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps, thanks to our school-wide library subscription. We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience.

Articles from 1851-1980 can be accessed through the archive search. Search historical issues & primary sources through the Times Machine which has over 150 years of NY Times journalism in its original newspaper format starting with Volume 1, Number 1 in 1851 through 2002! Go to The New York Times online guide for more in depth information.

In school, here's how to claim your pass for full digital access to The New York Times:

When you are on campus, visit nytimes.com/grouppass
Create an account using your BC email address
When you see "START YOUR ACCESS" and an expiration date (one year from the day you sign up), you are all set!
Set a calendar reminder to renew for next year so you have no lag in your subscription.
Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location!

HOW TO CREATE OR REACTIVATE YOUR NY TIMES ACCOUNT REMOTELY

Visit nytimes.com/passes. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address with the approved domain(s). If you already have a NYTimes.com account associated with such email address, log in with those credentials.

Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.

You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. Now you can enjoy access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.

HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.

To claim a new Pass after expiration: visit nytimes.com/passes and log in with your NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address.

7th Grade Science Research: Citizen Science - Satellite Research

Getting Started - Finding Background Information

Useful Library Links

DATABASE TIPS

Citizen Science Topics

Databases for 7th Grade Science Research - Best Bets

The New York Times - Get full digital access both in & outside of school