Skip to main content

HUM 8 - Living Wax Museum: START YOUR RESEARCH HERE

Use a Minimum of 5 Sources For Your Research

Find the best sources for your research & document them with NoodleTools on your Works Cited page. 

REFERENCE sources - for background and context

  • Begin with a Biography Reference article from Gale's Biography in Context​

 

BOOKS - for depth

 

PRIMARY SOURCES - for evidence

Original, first-hand, authoritative accounts of an event, topic or historical time period. They are usually produced at the time of an event by a person who experienced but they can be created in the form of oral histories or memoirs.

Primary sources include:  personal thoughts (letters, diaries, journals), original photographs, first-hand newspaper reports, speeches, autobiographies, memoirs, creative works like plays, paintings, songs, research data & surveys)

 

SCHOLARLY ARTICLES - for analysis 

Encyclopedias

Find a general overview of your topic.

Search Tip: Search by topic keyword - In your search results, look for alternate keywords and related topics to search next.

 

 

 

 

Search the Library Catalog for Books, eBooks, Websites & more

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

To Find Passwords For All Library Databases

Go to the Database Password Page to access BCS databases outside of school. 
 

Biography in Context - Gale Database

Search Tip: Use Advanced Search > Person Search to search for people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

CREDO - Reference Database

Chelsea House Online Biographies - Facts On File Database

Find Books, Magazine, Journal & Newspaper articles

Gale Virtual Reference Library - eBooks

Search Tip: In Gale's Library's Biography section, search the individual books listed below for concise biographies. Search the entire collection for multiple sources.