Skip to main content

HUM 5 - 52 Days by Camel Research: START HERE: Encyclopedias

How To Start Your Research

Use this guide to learn about your research topic. Find and read encyclopedia articles and web sites; watch videos and examine images.

Begin your research by reading about your topic. Start with an encyclopedia article to get an overview of your topic. 

Questions about this guide? Ask your librarian for help!

Useful Library Links

 

 

FIND PASSWORDS  for accessing online databases outside of school.

   

Encyclopedias - MS

Search for your topic in the encyclopedias listed below. Use important keywords for best results.

**For password help, ask a librarian or visit the passwords page!**

 

Search tip:  Start your search in the Elementary level 1. Go to levels 2 (Middle) & 3 as needed.

 

 

 

Search tip: Begin with an article from The New Book of Knowledge. 

 

 

 

Search tip: Start your search in Kids and then search World Book Student for more detailed information. 

 

Discovery Education - Check out this NEW Resource!

Search the Library Catalog for Books, eBooks, Websites & more

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

To FInd Database Passwords

Go to the Database Password Page to find the usernames and passwords to access BCS encyclopedias, databases and eBooks outside of school. 

Britannica Image Quest

Find and use rights-cleared images.

Search tip: use keywords to find a selection of images of people, places, events and artifacts.

*Be sure to cite the images you use. Copy the MLA citation on the lower right hand side.

Brain Pop

Search tip: Enter your topic into the search box or search by subject.