Skip to main content

*Middle School Library: Home

Library Information

Monday to Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

How many library books may I check out at any one time?

Students may borrow up to five books at one time. If you have overdue books, please renew them or return them to the library.

How long can I borrow a book for?

Library books may be borrowed for three weeks. You may renew books you are reading, as long as there is no one waiting for it.

If I bring a book back late, is there a fine?

No, we don't charge fines for late books.

What do I do if I can't find a library book I checked out?

Let Ms. Hartley-Maneri or Ms. Aronofsky know as soon as possible.

I need help with research. What do I do?

Ask your librarians for help!

Circulation Desk

Phone  I  718-534-6537

   

Kris Hartley-Maneri
Middle School Librarian
Find me at the Knowledge Bar
(718) 534-6537
 
 

Manuela Aronofsky
Library Assistant
Find me at the Knowledge Bar
maronofsky@berkeleycarroll.org
 
Loading ...

Useful Library Links

   

 

 

Search library databases & find research help

 

Find passwords to access databases outside of school. 

Search the Library Catalog for Books, eBooks & more

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Happenings In & Around the MS Library

Book Madness Finalists!

After three Book Madness voting rounds, the final TWO book contenders have been decided on! The BC Book Madness final vote will come down to Neal Shusterman's Thunderhead (sequel to the popular Scythe)  and Michelle Obama's memoir Becoming. Stay tuned for student-led video book talks for each book, which should help you make your decision if you're on the fence. And remember --faculty can vote too!

National Poetry Month Display

April is National Poetry Month, and we have some of our favorite poetry books on display (including Nikki Giovanni, Mary Oliver, Shel Silverstein & more!) We will also have blackout poetry as a breaktime activity. 

About National Poetry Month: "National Poetry Month was inaugurated by the Academy of American Poets in 1996. Over the years, it has become the largest literary celebration in the world with schools, publishers, libraries, booksellers, and poets celebrating poetry’s vital place in our culture." - Nat'l Poetry Month Homepage

 

BC Middle Book Madness

Our 2019 BC Middle Book Madness has begun! Here's a photo of our window display (with no bracket winners announced as of yet). Students will first make their initial winning predictions on a bracket, and then vote per week, eliminating books each round until the "Best Book" is announced in April. May the best book win!

BC Middle Book Madness

Our 2019 BC Middle Book Madness has begun! Here's a photo of our Book Madness bulletin board, explaining the rules & displaying the 16 book contenders!! Eliminated books will be "x"ed out with each voting round. May the best book win!

 

Library Offerings

Our new year bulletin board reminds middle school students & faculty of everything the library has to offer! Library benefits include:

  • An extensive book collection - both print & digital
  • The Knowledge Bar - where the amazing Ms. Schaffer deals with all tech needs!
  • Research help from librarians (including help with specific projects, as well as help accessing and using our amazing database collection)
  • A great magazine collection! Including physical magazines, and our digital magazine collection on the Flipster app
  • And much, much more...

"Spring" Into a New Book!

Our Spring display features several new book additions to the BC Middle School Library -- asking students to "Spring" into a new book (or choose a new book to explore before Spring Break)!

BC Book Madness Contenders

These titles are hard to keep on the shelf because of their popularity! But we do have a display of our BC Book Madness contenders that haven't been checked out. These 16 original book contenders are sorted into the four categories of: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Graphic Novels & Young Adult. Books will be taken off display as elimination voting occurs!

And the Winners Are...

The Newbery Award winning titles were officially voted on, and announced (both nationally, and for our library's Mock Newbery elective)!

This year, the winners were:

Newbery Award Winner 2019: Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina (pictured here)

Newbery Award Honor Book 2019: The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani (pictured here)

Newbery Award Honor Book 2019: The Book of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Mock Newbery Award Winner 2019: Front Desk by Kellly Yang (pictured here)

Mock Newbery Award Honor Book 2019: The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani (pictured here)

Remember, all of these titles (and the rest of the Mock Newbery reading list!) are available to check out in the BC Middle School Library.

6th Grade Book Bingo - Rotating Display

The entire 6th grade (through Humanities class) is partaking in a very exciting book bingo reading engagement challenge! The challenge asks students to read books from 25 different categories. But these categories go way beyond your usual genres, and include such things as: a book written by someone under 30, a book with a one-word title, and a book set on a different continent. This display will change weekly, and offer book suggestions from all the different categories. On the menu now - all books with one-word titles!

Books New to the Shelf

Flipster - Digital Magazines

To read a magazine on your iPad:

  1. Tap on a magazine cover & then tap 'Read This Issue' to open it in your browser.
  2. Tap the menu    and select 'Open in App' for offline reading.

 

AVAILABLE TITLES:

 

Ask en Español  ~ The Atlantic ~  Cicada  ~  Dig  ~  Discover  ~  Ebony  ~  Essence  ~  Kids, Code &  Computer Science  ~  Faces  ~  Iguana en Español  ~  MIT Technology Review ~ Muse ~  National Wildlife  ~ New Moon Girls  ~ New Yorker ~  Newsweek en Español ​ ~ Science News  ~  Scientific American  ~  Scientific American Mind  ~  Sports Illustrated  ~  Sports Illustrated Kids  ~ Teen Vogue ~ Time ~  Wacky But True

Featured eBooks

Browse our Follett eBook Fiction collection. Find a book & read it anytime, anyplace.

Select a title from the list, open it and sign in with Google using your BC email. 

(**For password help, see a librarian or visit the passwords page!**)

Loading ...

How to Access our eBooks

1. Search for a book in Destiny Discover (our library catalog!) You should have this app installed on your iPad, but if you don't have an iPad, you can find a link to the catalog on each of the grade LibGuides.) 

2. Check to see that the book is "In," and that the record says "Follett eBook."

Tip: The Call Number and Sublocation should also say eBook


2. Go to "Log In"


3. Choose "Sign In With Google"


4. Sign in with your Berkeley Carroll email address and password


5. Press "Checkout" to add the book to your account

Tip: This works just like a regular book checkout. You'll have two weeks to read it on your device and its reserved to you, so remember to return it (following the same steps) if you finish reading it sooner!


**Quick Tip! "Turn" the pages of the book by pressing the arrows on the side

FROM YOUR IPAD:

1. Open the Sora App (it should look like this): 


2. Go to "Find My School"


3. Go To "My School Isn't Listed" (at the bottom)


4. Start typing "Berkeley Carroll School" in the search bar and it should pop up. When it does, go to "This is my school"


5. Log in!

Your USERNAME is the first part of your BC email address (ex. mmctesto2024)

Go to the Passwords page (under Online & Print Library Collections & enter the password for "Sora Overdrive")


**Quick Tips! Search for a book in the Search Bar... When you've found the one you want, click "Borrow," and it will go to Your Shelf!

   


FROM YOUR CHROMEBOOK OR COMPUTER (WITHOUT THE SORA APP)

1. Go to: https://soraapp.com/welcome

2. Repeat steps 2-5

IF YOU ARE OPENING A SPECIFIC BOOK FROM A LIBGUIDE:

1. Click on the book title link


2. It should take you straight to the book. Click on "View eBook" to open the book!


4. If it prompts you to log in (it should only do this if you're not at school!), go to the Passwords page & enter the password for "Gale"


**Quick Tip! Browse the book faster by clicking through the Table of Contents!


HOW TO FIND THE WHOLE GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY (If you're not linking from a specific book):

1. Start by going to our BC A-Z Database List HERE (...this can also always be found from our Middle School Library LibGuide page)


2. Navigate to the "G" databases


3. Scroll down to "GALE GVRL Virtual Reference Collection [eBooks]"​


4. If it prompts you to log in (it should only do this if you're not at school!), go to the Passwords page & enter the password for "Gale"

1. Start by going to our BC A-Z Database List HERE (...this can also always be found from our Middle School Library LibGuide)


2. Navigate to the "C" databases, and click on "Capstone Interactive Books"


3. Click "Log In"


4. Go to "Login With Capstone Interactive" and enter the Username & Password (which can be found on our Database Passwords page under "Capstone Interactive EBooks!")

Loading ...