The Encyclopedia of Food and Health provides users with a solid bridge of current and accurate information spanning food production and processing, from distribution and consumption to health effects. The Encyclopedia comprises five volumes, each containing comprehensive, thorough coverage, and a writing style that is succinct and straightforward. Users will find this to be a meticulously organized resource of the best available summary and conclusions on each topic. Written from a truly international perspective, and covering of all areas of food science and health in over 550 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter, this updated encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for both research and educational needs. Identifies the essential nutrients and how to avoid their deficiencies Explores the use of diet to reduce disease risk and optimize health Compiles methods for detection and quantitation of food constituents, food additives and nutrients, and contaminants Contains coverage of all areas of food science and health in nearly 700 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter
This guide provides a unique source of information on food, nutrition, food labels, and associated legislation, organizations, and diseases and conditions. Coverage includes various topics related to nutrition and food labels.
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the foods and recipes from 70 representative countries and culture groups worldwide -- from Algeria to Zimbabwe. Entries provide 10-15 recipes for each group and include data on the agriculture and dietary habits of each group as well as an overview of each group's nutrition and health.
Explores the issues surrounding the factory farming, meeting the world's demand for food, by placing opinions from a wide range of sources in a pro/con format. Features articles that express various perspectives on this topic.
This essential collection of essays explores issues from a variety of international perspectives, relating to Genetically Modified Foods, with an emphasis on exploring world attitudes, rather than American-centric. This allows readers to understand an issue with a universal sensitivity. Essays sources provide viewpoints from Switzerland, India, Asia, South America, European Union, Australia, Philippines, Africa, Nigeria, America, and the United Kingdom. Readers will evaluate attitudes toward genetically modified food around the world. They will look at the impact of genetically modified crops on agriculture and health. Regulation issues are also presented.
America's broken food system has provoked an outcry from consumer advocates seeking to align food policies with public health objectives. This book examines both sides of the conflict for solutions. * Traces the development of a national food policy proposed by food movement leaders * Reveals the true cost of food and its toll on consumers and taxpayers * Discusses the opposition against a national food policy from the agricultural-industrial complex * Shows the effects of changing the current food system * Analyzes efforts to fix the food system and the efforts to oppose them * Introduces early food advocates who changed the food policy landscape